Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

    This is a discussion on Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently switched from TT to Sky Everyday. Stats with TT were Up 4.6Mb Down 0.76Mb ping 26ms Stats with Sky ...

    1. #1
      harvey1kk's Avatar
      harvey1kk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01388
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      Recently switched from TT to Sky Everyday.

      Stats with TT were Up 4.6Mb Down 0.76Mb ping 26ms

      Stats with Sky Up 4,3Mb Down 0.56Mb ping never less than 26 (as high as 73ms)

      Higher ping has greatly affected Son's online gaming thru Xbox - is there any way of improving these stats?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      Need the full stats:

      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      harvey1kk's Avatar
      harvey1kk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01388
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      OK this is what I'm getting now.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 122:30:19

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 21323 32926 0 1301 8430 01:13:05
      LAN 100M/Full 1019279 1113168 0 2110 390 122:30:14
      WLAN 11M/54M 1028536 730949 0 3053 175 122:30:01
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5019 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 14 db
      Poll Interval 10secs

      Cheers

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      As you can see, your sync speed that you're getting is 5019 kbps downstream and 606 upstream. 608kbps is the max upstream on the everyday package. You may have room for your downstream to improve - I reckon a change to g.dmt (a different line code that sky can change on their end) may have you near to 6144kbps.

      How long ago was it that you changed to sky? You may still be going through the DLM training period if it was in the last ~13 days or thereabouts.

      Re-post your stats from the test socket (instructions in the link below):

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      Higher ping has greatly affected Son's online gaming thru Xbox - is there any way of improving these stats?
      You can phone Sky and ask for your Delay to be reduced. If you are lucky you will get an agent who knows what you mean and pass you straight to CST for the change to be made. If you are are not, you may have to spend some time explaining what you want. When you get there you can ask them if they can improve your download speed. There is no reason why you cannot get at least the same as you had with TT,

      It would do no harm to post your stats from the Test socket.

      Edit - I have just had a thought that TT use a different MTU than Sky. If your PC has been set up to use TT's MTU it may have an effect on your speed.
      Last edited by Isitme; 06-04-10 at 03:07 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      harvey1kk's Avatar
      harvey1kk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01388
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      Changed over about 23 days ago - status shows that DLM is finished.

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Switched from TalkTalk - poorer performance with Sky

      Ok, in that case then ring sky (08442410515) and have the line set to g.dmt and uncapped. Ask them to set the max delays to 8ms whilst you're at it (DLM usually does set them to 8ms however... but it's worth asking if you're getting bad ping times).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION