Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    am I being capped?

    This is a discussion on am I being capped? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well hope you guys can help, I am having no joy with the tech line trying to explain my situation.. ...

    1. #1
      zimsabre's Avatar
      zimsabre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      am I being capped?

      Well hope you guys can help, I am having no joy with the tech line trying to explain my situation..

      Any-ways I joined sky ultimate, for the great 6 months half price offer and i thought cool.. I will have that!

      Well using the sky exchange checker, they reckon I am..

      For Telephone No.: 01403xxxxxxx
      Post Code: RH12 4EQ
      Your Exchange Information
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax BT Code: SDHRSHM = Location: North Street RH12 1RD
      Distance:- Direct: 3.60 mi
      (appx)* By Road: 4.3 mi

      and the school opposite us comes up with this :S
      For Telephone No.: 01403261822
      Post Code: RH12 4EA
      Your Exchange Information
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax BT Code: SDHRSHM = Location: North Street RH12 1RD
      Distance:- Direct: 1.11 mi
      (appx)* By Road: 1.3 mi
      I am banging my head against a wall here i know for a fact i do not live in rusper, our block of flats are new builds and not even 2 years old,

      the max i can get is
      DownStream Connection Speed 3200 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
      I rely don't know what else to do as i feel cheated, and befor anyone says DML, it has been like this for 3 months now and they wont accept that i live 1.1m from the exchange and NOT 3.6m, i know i am being capped because a friend of our who lives 1.4m away gets 5.2mb :S


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      Looking at your stats you are on Sky Connect, not the Sky unlimited package.

      If so then you are stuffed, Sky Connect is way over capacity and you will be lucky to get any real use out of it during peak hours (5pm - midnight and weekends).

      There are many threads on here about it but bottom line is you need to move to a better ISP.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      It may be a coincidence as Horsham exchange is Sky enabled. It is possible no LLU slots are available, so the connection is temporary on Connect.

      i know i am being capped because a friend of our who lives 1.4m away gets 5.2mb :S
      Post your router stats and we will tell you one way or another.
      How to get your router statistics

      You should also post the stats from your Test socket for comparison.
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      zimsabre's Avatar
      zimsabre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      Connection Speed 3200 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 30 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 18 db
      sorry its late, ill test the main socket tomorrow.

    6. #5
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: am I being capped?

      With a atennuation of 49db your phone line is about 2.2 miles long, its
      irrelevant how far you think you are from the exchange as its the length of
      the line that will determine your actual speed.

      that being said your home internal wiring or setup is probably losing you 1mb or
      so, when we see your stats from the test socket we may be able to help a little.

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      zimsabre
      Hi the issue looks like Sky are showing
      I know for a fact I do not live in rusper,
      Which has no LLU services and as you say and show Horsham Carfax which has several LLU ISPs providers one being
      Sky / Easynet: Enabled as of 11/06/2006
      upload of 448 kbps is normally the connect package a Bt re-badged product. The things you have to ask Sky is what exchange do Sky show you are on if rusper then you know they are wrong and then get Sky to run a post code check by giving Sky your post code and ask them to check to see what exchange you are on. But if Sky have you at the Horsham Carfax exchange then as Isitme say
      It is possible no LLU slots are available, so the connection is temporary on Connect.
      Then ask Sky if there are any free slot`s at the Horsham Carfax exchange if so can you be moved over to one and tell Sky that you were told that you were on the Sky Max/Unlimited you cannot get the great 6 months half price offer on the connect package. Also if you do the tests as Isitme has asked it will give you more information

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      If your MySky account does not tell you what you are on, an easy way to find out is to do the BT Performance test. If it succeeds you are on Connect, if it fails you are on Unlimited.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: am I being capped?

      If you PM me your telephone number, I'll tell you who you're with. (Or do what Isitme said alternatively)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION