Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41

    Day 1 help please

    This is a discussion on Day 1 help please within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I know it's only day one but ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps Line Attenuation 16.0 ...

    1. #1
      portovechios's Avatar
      portovechios is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Day 1 help please

      I know it's only day one but

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 7.1 db
      Noise Margin 14.2 db 23.5 db

      does this look about right?

      Should I be checking wiring or filters.I do have a long run from the front of the house to my PC,should i go wirelss from the main socket? etc

      What can I expect please?


      Stewart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      With your attenuation you should get the full 20mb but something is holding you back, you would certainly be much better from the TEST socket, get the stats from there and you should see an increase in your noise margin, the speed will increase over the next 10 days whislt DLM is running.

      It would be worth getting a filtered faceplate and running the router from it.

    4. #3
      portovechios's Avatar
      portovechios is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      filtered faceplate?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      A filtered faceplate replaces the current faceplate and isolated the ADSL signal as it enters the house, it then removes any interference that can be caused by the rest of the internal wiring giving you the best ADSL connection available to you.

      You can get these from a couple of the members here, ADSL Nation or Runitdirect, they are not expensive and are easy to install.

    6. #5
      portovechios's Avatar
      portovechios is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      i just tried the test socket and got

      4095 / 510
      16db / 7db
      15.7db / 23db

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      .I do have a long run from the front of the house to my PC
      Are you using a long plug in telephone extension? If so this probably accounts for your problem. You must plug in using only the supplied cables and filters to get the best from your line. Use a long ethernet cable from the router to your PC instead of an extension.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      portovechios's Avatar
      portovechios is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      My stats are the same at the test socket, see above.

      I have an absolute mess at the test socket, it has 3 other wires going in the back and lead off to dead ends,i think i need to install one new main filtered faceplate and start again,what do you think?

    9. #8
      portovechios's Avatar
      portovechios is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      smithy are you saying i should but wont get 20 meg?

    10. #9
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      From your attenuation, in theory you should hit 20mbps. In reality, the noise margin is too low to hit it at the moment.

      It may sound like a silly question, but what exactly did you connect into the test socket to take the stats?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Day 1 help please

      I'd say nearer 14-16Mbps as a conservative estimate - anything more is a bonus
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION