Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

    This is a discussion on Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Just upgraded to unlimited and want to check I am getting the max speed. A friend had speed ...

    1. #1
      jam_uk's Avatar
      jam_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      Hi Guys,

      Just upgraded to unlimited and want to check I am getting the max speed. A friend had speed issues and requested from Sky that the ADSL2+ was reverted back to G.DMT and he obtained a significant speed increase. Should I do the same, will I benefit?

      Netgear DG384 GT
      Firmware Version V1.03.87
      I am approximately 811 metres from the exchange (Woolston).



      Would be great to hear any views.

      Many thanks,

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      No your not getting maxium speed, but if you have only just switched you will be going through DLM, Dynamic Line Management which will take up to 10 days to complete and lock to the best speed.

    4. #3
      jam_uk's Avatar
      jam_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      Thanks for your reply Koala5

      It's been over 10 days now.

      Should I ring and ask sky to configure manually?

      What speed should I be expecting?

      Thanks again.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      You will have to post your stats to be told what speed you should have. Post them from your normal position and from the Test socket. You will find links in the Quick Links box on the left for instructions on how to do this.

      If you are close to the exchange you will be OK on ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      jam_uk's Avatar
      jam_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      Thanks guys. My speed seems to have settled now. I think DLM must be complete. Is this good speed for my stats?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10233 kbps 1022 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 20.4 db
      Noise Margin 3.9 db 7.3 db

      Thanks again.

      Ben

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      No, your noise margin is far too low. Try taking the stats from your test socket, link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jam_uk's Avatar
      jam_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      Okay will do that now. In simple terms what does the noise level mean? (Do you have a link for more info?)

    9. #8
      jam_uk's Avatar
      jam_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      Okay, the router is now plugged into our main test socket. Here's the info:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9590 kbps 1117 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 db 20.3 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 7.6 db

      Do we have any issues?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      It looks like your router has resynced at a more stable speed near the default noise margin. Your are syncing a bit low for your attenuation. If this is the result from the Test socket and all your other sockets are dead when the faceplate is removed, it appears your external line is in poor condition or has a fault. Unless your voice line has noise on it, it is difficult if not impossible, to get anything done about it. Check the noise on your line by plugging a corded phone into the test socket and dialling 1 digit, you should hear nothing more than a faint hiss.

      You can read a bit about Noise margin here - ::. Kitz - ADSL Router Line Stats .::

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Remove ADSL2+ for G.DMT

      probably because it was late when he resync'd, i lose about 1200kbps when i sync after 4 - 5pm, it stables it out at around 6880kbps, instead of my 8000kbps, i reckon if he resync'd in the morning he would get around 10 nearly 11 meg

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION