Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Whats my max speed?

    This is a discussion on Whats my max speed? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got activated today; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps Line Attenuation 9.0 db 6.5 db ...

    1. #1
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Whats my max speed?

      Just got activated today;


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.0 db 6.5 db
      Noise Margin 27.9 db 13.0 db

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      You should get 20Mb down and -1300kbps up with no difficluty.

      Plug the router into your Test socket if you have one, just to see if you are getting interference from your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      Thanks, I'll do that now, i'll let you know in 5 minutes.
      Im on the claughton exchange, and apparently top speed is 5mb? Could you double check that and tell me if thats right? I'm a bit confused by this atm.

    5. #4
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulE View Post
      Thanks, I'll do that now, i'll let you know in 5 minutes.
      Im on the claughton exchange, and apparently top speed is 5mb? Could you double check that and tell me if thats right? I'm a bit confused by this atm.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0 db 6.5 db
      Noise Margin 28.1 db 14.0 db

      Now plugged into test socket

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      With your stats, you will get the full 20mb, if you cannot, then nobody can!!!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      Don't take any notice of what it says on the net. It is referring to BT speeds and out of date information at that. You are with Sky and will get very near the maximum.

      Not a lot of difference in your stats, but believe us, you will get a very good speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      Ah brilliant, how do you lot work out speeds from the data I give? It'd be interesting to know, I'm getting like 4mb at the moment, is the increase usually in the first 10 days, or after?

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      DLM is running on your line as we speak (or should be!!) and speed will increase automatically over the next 4-10 days...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      Ah right, cool.
      So how do you lot work out max speed from my noise margin etc?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Whats my max speed?

      It has just been activated today so it could take a few days for DLM to kick in.

      A good indication of your speed can be got from the attenuation figure, the lower the better and yours is very low, and the noise margin, the higher the better. The default is 6.9 so yours is nice and high. As your speed increases this figure will fall till it gets down to the default.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION