Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    What speed should I be getting

    This is a discussion on What speed should I be getting within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm new to Sky (on Sky Unlimited) and would welcome some feedback on what sort of download speeds I ...

    1. #1
      Hercules's Avatar
      Hercules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What speed should I be getting

      Hi,

      I'm new to Sky (on Sky Unlimited) and would welcome some feedback on what sort of download speeds I should be getting.

      Currently, they are lower than I would have expected, and are lower than they were on my previous ISP (a reseller of Entanet).

      The router stats are as follows:

      Downstream
      Connection speed: 4095 kbps
      Line attenuation: 34.5 db
      Noise margin: 14.1 db

      Upstream
      Connection speed: 757 kbps
      Line attenuation: 16.1 db
      Noise margin: 8.5 db

      Sometimes when I reboot the router the downstream connection speed can be 8000 kbps or more but it soon drops back down to around the 4000 kbps level.

      I'm pretty sure I don't have any internal wiring issues as the router is plugged directly into the test socket behind the faceplate.

      So, what sort of speeds should I be getting, and if they are much higher than my current speeds, what steps should should I take to reach those speeds?

      Thank you,

      Hercules


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What speed should I be getting

      How long have you been connected? Your line will be trained by DLM for around 10 days, during which time the speed will fluctuate. Do not reboot or turn off your router during this time or it will upset the training.

      If you have been connected for more than 14 days, call Sky and ask them to configure your line.

      Your attenuation should support 10-12 Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Hercules's Avatar
      Hercules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed should I be getting

      Thanks for the quick reply.

      I've been connected for (I think) almost 2 months now, and while there will have been some reboots during that period, I would still have expected the DLM phase to have been completed successfully.

      For various reasons I am using my own router, and was wondering whether Sky had perhaps chosen to limit my speed as a result, but hopefully not!
      Last edited by Hercules; 26-01-10 at 09:58 PM.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What speed should I be getting

      Call Sky and ask them to configure your line as you believe DLM has left it at a lower speed than necessary. It looks like DLM has left your download at the first training speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION