Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Need help with wireless

    This is a discussion on Need help with wireless within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI I have just upgraded from base to unlimited and am connecting wirelessly. Firstly any ideas how long it takes ...

    1. #1
      boyza1's Avatar
      boyza1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: armley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need help with wireless

      HI I have just upgraded from base to unlimited and am connecting wirelessly.
      Firstly any ideas how long it takes to upgrade as i did it online.

      Secondly I bought a netgear rangemax N usb 2.0 adapater with speeds of up to 300mbps but it will still only connect at 54 mbps. Any ideas???

      All help greatly appreciated

      Simon


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Need help with wireless

      If you are using the Sky supplied router it is not an "n" type so will not do thoe speeds, you are stuck with 54mb if you can get that which I doubt.

      You would be better buying a couple of homeplugs.

    4. #3
      boyza1's Avatar
      boyza1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: armley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with wireless

      HOm eplugs?? Never heard of them wat r they?
      I have read that i Could possibly pigyback my sky router using it as a modem and then getting a n enabled router ??

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Need help with wireless

      They are a way of connecting things to the router via a wire without actually running in any wires.

      The will give a much, much better connection than wireless and will not suffer from wireless interference.

      Here are a couple of Solwise ones similar to the ones I have.

      2 x SOLWISE 85Mbps HOMEPLUG TURBO ETHERNET ADAPTERS NEW on eBay (end time 27-Jan-10 00:15:28 GMT)

    6. #5
      boyza1's Avatar
      boyza1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: armley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with wireless

      ok thanks for that maybe im beign dumb here does that mean techinclly ur turning ur electricity point into a computer point? sounds a wicked idea! does this mean that ill be more likely to get the internet speed im supposed t as if i were hardwired?

      Thank you ever so much for your help and guidance on this

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Need help with wireless

      No it just means you will see less loss of speed due to the normal limitations of wireless. It will not impact the speed your line will supply to your router.
      Using the electrical wiring with homeplugs means the wiring acts like ethernet cables and carries the data from the router to the pcs connected by homeplugs onto the electrical circuit.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION