Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Confused with Speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Confused with Speed Problems within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey everyone, I'm more or less a noob when it comes to these things, I'm on the SKY Max package ...

    1. #1
      Obs3rv3r's Avatar
      Obs3rv3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Confused with Speed Problems

      Hey everyone,

      I'm more or less a noob when it comes to these things, I'm on the SKY Max package and I wanted to boost my internet download speed which is currently at around 520kbps. So I did a search on the internet and came across something on SkyUser leading me to try out the Test Socket. And bingo my speed almost doubled to around 1MBs!

      I thought my problems were solved, however, the next day I tried it and sadly it went back to the same speed. I thought it may be Sky capping my connection, so I rang up and the guy on the other end told me it could be something physical on my end which I find it hard to believe as I have everything installed properly ; Sagem router, microfilter plugged into the Test socket, plus it doesn't explain my speed almost doubling for a few hours.

      Anyway, I needed help, so I guess this is the right place to ask, these are my stats, currently connected to the Test Socket:

      Connection Speed 5022 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 22.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

      Shouldn't I be getting around 5MB/s, why are my download speeds so low?:S


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      You are syncing at 5Mbs, which is a bit low for your attenuation but as you are in the Test socket, the problem must be on your external line. Unless you have noise on your voice line, it is almost impossible to get anything done about that.

      With a sync of 5Mb you should get an actual download speed of 4 to 4.5 mbps. If you are not getting that, boot into Safe Mode with networking and test your speed on Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester post your result. Speedtests should be done using a wired connection, not wireless. Also let us know what OS you are using.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Obs3rv3r's Avatar
      Obs3rv3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      Thanks for your reply.

      I booted into Windows 7 on Safe Mode with Networking, wired connection into Test socket, it gave me the following results:

      Downstream - 4240
      Upstream - 657

      Any suggestions?

    5. #4
      Obs3rv3r's Avatar
      Obs3rv3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      I think I'm confusing Kbps with KB/s in download speed :|

      Feel stupid now....

      Is there a way to improve my sync speed, sorry for the basic question but how do I test the noise on my phone line?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      You can check you line for noise by plugging a corded phone into the Test socket and dialing 1 digit to clear the dial tone. Listen and you should hear nothing except maybe a very quiet hiss. On a BT line you can dial 17070 option 2 and listen, not sure if this works with Sky lines.

      Unless you have noise on your external line there is not much you can do. You can try phoning Sky and ask them to check your line, but they are never too keen to do this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Obs3rv3r's Avatar
      Obs3rv3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      Okay, tested the noise on the phone line, everything seems normal, expected hissing.

      Called Sky one last time, they said I should get sync speeds around 8/9 Mbps they've put me on DLM.

      Hope they decide to boost my speeds.

      Is it okay if I leave things hanging and connect through the test socket or will I need to eventually install a faceplate?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused with Speed Problems

      Using the Test socket disconnects your extensions, if you can get by without them there is nothing to stop you continuing to use it. A filtered faceplate would be tidier.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION