Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24

    Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

    This is a discussion on Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; General query on my speed as it's quite pathetic to say the least. Currently on Sky Everyday (Up to 10mb/s) ...

    1. #1
      ChrisDeston's Avatar
      ChrisDeston is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1.72km away (Stalybridge)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Manchester, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      General query on my speed as it's quite pathetic to say the least.
      Currently on Sky Everyday (Up to 10mb/s) and planning on improving to Unlimited (for Sky on my xbox, not for the faster speed).

      As it stands, Sky say the best speed my line can support (using their online test) is 4mb/s. On average? I'm getting 0.5mb/s and it's rarely if ever any higher.
      My questions are firstly does anyone know why it's so poor? And then obviously, how can I improve it and get up to the best my line can support.. And finally, is there anyway to improve my line to be able to support higher speeds (and again, if this is possible how can I maximise the efficiency of it)?

      Admittedly, I'm not knowledgable of much in this area and apologies if these have been addressed/haven't been addressed because it's retarded but I'd appreciate any help



      EDIT: Router Stats and Speed At Time Taken
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 512 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 29.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 15.5 db
      Last edited by ChrisDeston; 05-11-09 at 05:37 AM. Reason: Added Speedtest results


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Please post your router stats - click on the Sky Router Stats link on the left of this page for details.

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      As Neil says your stats are required for further comment.
      You may want to have a read of these sections for further info on improvements.
      Cabling and faceplate help
      Router stats


    5. #4
      ChrisDeston's Avatar
      ChrisDeston is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1.72km away (Stalybridge)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Manchester, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Sorry, I knew there was something I was supposed to add.
      Reedited with statisctics but here for easier reference:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 512 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 29.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 15.5 db

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      You need to find your master socket and connect the router directly to the TEST socket which is behind the front faceplate.

      See sig for details.

      Post your router stats from there when connected.

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Do make sure that your a microfilter is the first thing to be plugged in to every phone socket you have in use.

      Is you Sky TV box connected to the phoneline, if so please make sure that its cable with a splitter on the end is plugged into a filter and not the other way round which may account for your poor connecttion speed and is quite a common mistake.

    8. #7
      ChrisDeston's Avatar
      ChrisDeston is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1.72km away (Stalybridge)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Manchester, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Do make sure that your a microfilter is the first thing to be plugged in to every phone socket you have in use.

      Is you Sky TV box connected to the phoneline, if so please make sure that its cable with a splitter on the end is plugged into a filter and not the other way round which may account for your poor connecttion speed and is quite a common mistake.
      I'm certain there are microfilters in every socket and the sky box is not connected to the phoneline (we never used sky box office or any interactive features so we ended up just removing the cable completely).

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You need to find your master socket and connect the router directly to the TEST socket which is behind the front faceplate.

      See sig for details.

      Post your router stats from there when connected.
      Anywho, your sig helped, never realised that extra socket existed!
      But once I connected to Test socket my router gave up and the connection becomes limited to no connectivity. Can't get the statistics there.. I'm not sure why. I've had to plug it back into the main socket to post this.

      Now, without the phone or anything else plugged into the socket (Just the Microfilter and the router) I'm being told the ADSL link is down?! And that I cannot access the internet at all, haha.. Plugging it all back as it were originally. And I'm now seeing an orange light on the internet '@' symbol on my router. This aint going too well for me really.

      Been out and come back, green now. Hopefully it'll post this time..

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Plug it back in to the test socket but try a different microfilter and make sure to completely power off/on your router and give it a few minutes to connect. Even with limited connectivity you should still be able to access http://192.168.0.1

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      I think this is something that happens quite often when the Test socket has not been accessed before. Deposits build up on the connections and everything is fine with the faceplate in position, when you remove the faceplate it disturbs the deposits and prevents a clean connection. This is why some users claim to get a better connection from an extension than the Test socket, which is really impossible. You can usually fix this by working a plug in and out and wiggling it a few times to clear the deposits. BT engineers use a special fluid to clean the connections, but a small squirt of WD40 does quite a good job.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      ChrisDeston's Avatar
      ChrisDeston is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1.72km away (Stalybridge)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Manchester, UK
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improvements For The Best Speed Your Line Can Support..?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Even with limited connectivity you should still be able to access http://192.168.0.1
      I could access the ip while limited (in the test socket) however it said the ADSL link was down and I was getting no statistics.
      I have tried it with three microfilters (the one I used when I last posted, the one I use regularly and another spare I found). All three show the ADSL link to be down when in the test socket.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION