Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 56

    Getting slow speeds but should i be?

    This is a discussion on Getting slow speeds but should i be? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just tell them you have made improvements to your internal wiring and would like to be passed to the Customer ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Just tell them you have made improvements to your internal wiring and would like to be passed to the Customer Solutions Team to have your line reconfigured.

      There is no cap on LLU connections for downloading too much. If you exceed your limit twice in a 6 month period you will be advised by email/letter and will be automatically upgraded if you continue to exceed the limit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      param's Avatar
      param is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Ok, capps been lifted, router says i'm connected at 6mb.

      One problem though, i used a Belkin wireless usb adapter and i got horrible speeds, 0.6mb.

      Used a netgear one and i got better, around 2-2.5.

      I'm guessing it's an issue of the adapter? Any internal wireless cards you reccomend?

    4. #33
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Try changing the channel on the router, start at 13 and work down.

      You should really consider either running in a cable or fitting a couple of homeplugs.

      Post your new stats.

    5. #34
      param's Avatar
      param is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Here's my stats right now taken from my PC

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5294 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.5 db 26.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 10.5 db

      Would homeplugs give me much of an advantage over a PCI wireless card? It's just that the plugs are so expensive in comparison

    6. #35
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Homeplugs would be much better, it would in effect be like running a wire from the router to the PC you would suffer no wireless interference issues or related speed drops.

    7. #36
      param's Avatar
      param is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Ok, done a bit of research, homeplugs seem the way to go. Do they use much power?

      Also, what do you think of the stats i'm getting now?

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Homeplugs use very little power, hardly enough to measure.

      Your stats are much better but your sync speed is still a bit low. This could be down to a poor external line or to using ADSL2+. If you have the DG834GT, go here and press the Detailed Stats button. Copy and paste the stats to here.
      Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      param's Avatar
      param is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Ok here are the stats. I got these from my PC using the wireless adapter

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.198.195.34 P-t-P:87.87.249.110 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:20976 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:15514 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:20393069 (19.4 MiB) TX bytes:2841974 (2.7 MiB)

      Uptime 68592.39 68274.45
      Wan up 57057.45 56791.61
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 796 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5639 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 11.0
      Attn(dB): 44.5 26.7
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 6556 896
      Rate (Kbps): 5639 796
      G.dmt framing
      K: 177(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 176 24
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.9986 7.7142
      L: 1514 224
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 712175 679824
      SFErr: 303 29
      RS: 46291392 1691563
      RSCorr: 14395 49
      RSUnCorr: 9331 0

      HEC: 213 41
      OCD: 83 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 153703056 34741905
      Data Cells: 441057 74790
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 278 13
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 38 27
      AS: 11558

      INP: 1.01 1.14
      PER: 16.22 17.83
      delay: 7.98 7.71
      OR: 32.04 33.18

      Bitswap: 3844 140

      Total time = 19 hours 3 min 12 sec
      SF = 4218785
      CRC = 970
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 278
      Latest 1 day time = 19 hours 3 min 12 sec
      SF = 4218785
      CRC = 970
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 278
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 12 sec
      SF = 11867
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55439
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55438
      CRC = 18
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55501
      CRC = 33
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55439
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1
      ChipSet Vendor Id: GSPN:0x 10
      ChipSet VersionNumber:
      ChipSet SerialNumber:

    10. #39
      param's Avatar
      param is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Oh and i'm thinking of pciking this up. Link

      They should be OK right? Does it matter that one end will be plugged in to a surge protector?

    11. #40
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting slow speeds but should i be?

      Quote Originally Posted by param View Post
      Oh and i'm thinking of pciking this up. Link

      They should be OK right? Does it matter that one end will be plugged in to a surge protector?
      Yes it does. They can be used OK using standard 4-way adapters etc, but they're not recommended for use with surge protectors.

      BTW a cheaper alternative might be something like this Comtrend Powerline Ethernet Adapter 200Mpbs on eBay (end time 08-Nov-09 16:00:51 GMT) you also don't lose the use of a socket.

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION