Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

    This is a discussion on Is there anything i can do to increase speeds? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You have to wait as I've already said - it'll be automatic... If, after a week or so, you still ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      You have to wait as I've already said - it'll be automatic...

      If, after a week or so, you still think it's less than you expect call Sky and they can manually adjust it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      desiraja's Avatar
      desiraja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      Connection Speed 7005 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 16 db

      specs after 10 days, is there anything we can do to increase speeds?

      Thanks in advance

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      Call Sky and ask them to reconfigure your speed as DLM has left it too low. If Tier 1 tell you you are getting as much as you can, tell them you are not satisfied and want to be passed to the Customer Solutions Team. If they refuse tell them you want to speak to a manager immediately. If this fails, call back and try again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      desiraja's Avatar
      desiraja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      thanks guys, is there anyway to get another number for them as i will be calling from a cellphone?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      Don't know of any. Can't you use the land line? Sky will not help unless you are sat in front of the PC connected to the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      desiraja's Avatar
      desiraja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      hey guyz, thanks for the help, got my speed increased to 16mbs. After doing some speed tests it is no where near that amount? its still around the same speed as it was before for the speed tests?????

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 16380 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 765 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16380 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db

    8. #17
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      What's your latest speed test using the tester on this site?

    9. #18
      desiraja's Avatar
      desiraja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      Your download speed is 4040Kbps. Your upload speed is 510Kbps

    10. #19
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      Are you using wireless? if so try a wire.

    11. #20
      desiraja's Avatar
      desiraja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Is there anything i can do to increase speeds?

      minimal change

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION