Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 37

    would adsl2 be better?

    This is a discussion on would adsl2 be better? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; was it talking rubbish I think so, I have never seen my DS Power reading as high as that. Quite ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      was it talking rubbish
      I think so, I have never seen my DS Power reading as high as that. Quite often it is 0. I always thought a high reading was bad, but I could be wrong.

      Looking at these stats which show a reading of 19.8, it looks like I am right.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      guys, any tips on what to do other than u should be getting more with 38db atten

      thanks

    4. #23
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by ardsar View Post
      guys, any tips on what to do other than u should be getting more with 38db atten

      thanks
      What is the highest your noise margin gets to in the day, and what does it go down to at night.

    5. #24
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      7.8 to 6.9.
      ive had a sync of about 7.6m in the past. at the current line speed 7298 it has varied from 7.6 to 7.2 over the last day

    6. #25
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by ardsar View Post
      7.8 to 6.9.
      ive had a sync of about 7.6m in the past. at the current line speed 7298 it has varied from 7.6 to 7.2 over the last day
      That noise margin drop from day to night looks normal, well within the normal 3db range. The slow speed is very strange knowing this.

    7. #26
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      it has never varied by more than 1.5db. sky switched my line to adsl2 but it only went upto 7.9 which i have seen on gdmt. they advised that there system showed 6.5meg to be the fastest stable speed on adsl. are there other settings they can change like increase signal level hence increasing s/n

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      it has never varied by more than 1.5db.
      You will only get a large variation when there is an intermittent fault. It looks like yours is a permanent one or your line is just of very low quality. Do you know if you have any aluminium in your line. That can cause very poor performance.
      All I can suggest is that you call your rental provider and tell them you are sometimes getting very bad noise on your line. Don't mention broadband. They may send someone out to check the line and with a bit of luck, he/she might find something wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      ive no idea if o have aluminium in the line, im on a fairly new estate but depends where the feed joins recently on ocassions i have had an echo on the line. its not there now and the line seems quiet.

    10. #29
      ardsar's Avatar
      ardsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crownhill Plymouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You will only get a large variation when there is an intermittent fault. It looks like yours is a permanent one or your line is just of very low quality. Do you know if you have any aluminium in your line. That can cause very poor performance.
      All I can suggest is that you call your rental provider and tell them you are sometimes getting very bad noise on your line. Don't mention broadband. They may send someone out to check the line and with a bit of luck, he/she might find something wrong.
      Sky have just sent me the V2 Netgear box - (black) When i connected this to my line, the download S/N varied dramitically from between 7dB to 1dB within a 5 min period!!!!! I put my old router back and it remained failrly constat at 7.1 - 7.4dB.

      Is it a faulty box, or is the replacement showing something that the old one isn't

    11. #30
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: would adsl2 be better?

      I don't think the V2 netgear is very good from what I have read.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION