Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    speedtester.bt.com

    This is a discussion on speedtester.bt.com within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I am trying to run the bt speedtester utility but it keeps erroring out saying that it can't ...

    1. #1
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speedtester.bt.com

      Hi guys,

      I am trying to run the bt speedtester utility but it keeps erroring out saying that it can't identifiy me. I am definately putting the correct telephone number in and I can't enter anything in the service id box as nothign seems valid.

      According to another thread I should put my mac id in, but it doesn't accept that and there is only room for 12 characters... any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      You cannot run a BT speedtest on an LLU line, it's not on their exchange equipment. Only Sky Connect customers can do this.

    4. #3
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      Now you have said it, it is bloody obvious

      /me is a plonka!!!

      On another note here are my line stats which I think are very good for the distance from the exchange I am. I notice that with a bit of tweaking I can probably get a bit more speed out of it though - worth the effort giving sky a call?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7611 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 15 db

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      Yes, you could get another 2-3mb

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      I would say that's bang on the money for your line attenuation figure. Your noise margin does suggest you can get more, maybe even up to 9mbps, but it depends how stable it is over a 24hr period.

      Also, if your speed is around the estimate that Sky gave you then it'll be difficult to get past the tier 1 support guys. One suggestion would be to say that you are a gamer and would like your Max Delay reducing, this should get you a way through to CST who you can then ask to up your speed a bit.

    7. #6
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      LMFAO

      If I go by what they said I would get then we're doing well. When they said to me - oh you'll get about 2 meg - I said to them no I won't cus this internal wiring in this house sucks and I am about to rip it all out

      Suffice to say I am happy with what I have - was just curious I have actually had a lot of trouble with a noisy line (voice calls very noisy on the quiet line test) but have been unable to isolate the problem - I just think it's my shoddy aluminium line

      Anyways thanks for advice about gaming - as I am a gamer too

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: speedtester.bt.com

      (voice calls very noisy on the quiet line test)
      If you are getting this from the Test socket with a corded phone, you should report it to your rental provider. It could improve your broadband as a by product, but don't mention this when you phone or they are likely to do nothing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION