Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    Is this bad latency?

    This is a discussion on Is this bad latency? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by PaulSky Any noise or issues with the phone line? To be honest i have noticed the sound ...

    1. #11
      croutledge's Avatar
      croutledge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Any noise or issues with the phone line?
      To be honest i have noticed the sound level on the phone can go from acceptable to not being able to here the person speaking. This doesn't happen all the time but does happen quite often. To the point where i'm constantly saying pardon to the person i'm speaking to. I thought it was down to the phones as they are a few years old and have been banged around a bit by the kids. (and the missus )

      Also thought it might have been interference from the wireless signal on the router/pc's.

      Cheers

      Carl


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Dial 1 digit on your phone and listen. You should not hear any crackles pops or rumbles, only a faint hiss at most. If you do, report it to your phone rental provider. Don't mention broadband or you will just be referred to your ISP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      croutledge's Avatar
      croutledge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Dial 1 digit on your phone and listen. You should not hear any crackles pops or rumbles, only a faint hiss at most. If you do, report it to your phone rental provider. Don't mention broadband or you will just be referred to your ISP.
      Will add it to the list to try tonight. My line rental is with Sky also.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      I should have said, do the test with a corded phone plugged straight into the Test socket. It is important nothing else is connected when you do the test as this could cause interference,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      croutledge's Avatar
      croutledge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I should have said, do the test with a corded phone plugged straight into the Test socket. It is important nothing else is connected when you do the test as this could cause interference,
      Argh ok...will have to see if i can get hold of one to try that then.

    7. #16
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      We use an Argos cheapo for checks, costs little but gives a lot of credence when you call in to your line provider with a fault. They will blame the phone if it's cordless unless something shows up on a test.

    8. #17
      croutledge's Avatar
      croutledge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      We use an Argos cheapo for checks, costs little but gives a lot of credence when you call in to your line provider with a fault. They will blame the phone if it's cordless unless something shows up on a test.
      Pretty sure the in-laws have one lying around..will pinch that

    9. #18
      croutledge's Avatar
      croutledge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryport
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Right,

      Ran some more tests this evening..probably not the best time but wanted to do them anyway.

      In the test socket:

      Connection :
      Down - 3680
      Up - 384

      Att :
      Down - 49 db
      Up - 15 db

      Noise :
      Down - 3 db
      Up - 14 db

      Now i will point out that i was using my own router as the router model i got from sky was the same as one i originally had and it just didn't perform on my line. But i thought with these problems i will fire the sky router up.

      Here is the results :

      Sky Router - test socket:

      Connection :
      Down - 3904
      Up - 384

      Att :
      Down - 50 db
      Up - 30.5 db

      Noise :
      Down - 7.1 db
      Up - 14 db

      Speed test - http://www.speedtest.net/result/568823507.png

      Sky Router - master socket:

      Connection :
      Down - 3776
      Up - 384

      Att :
      Down - 51 db
      Up - 30.5 db

      Noise :
      Down - 7.3 db
      Up - 14 db

      Speed test - http://www.speedtest.net/result/568819853.png

      Sky Router - with iplate:

      Connection :
      Down - 3776
      Up - 384

      Att :
      Down - 51 db
      Up - 30.5 db

      Noise :
      Down - 7.1 db
      Up - 14 db

      Speed test - http://www.speedtest.net/result/568828186.png

      A lot of that looks a lot better so i would say the first router my either be faulty or reporting incorrect data as it still seemed to function fine. The pings are still very bad i think.

      Not managed to get hold of a phone yet.

      Cheers

      Carl

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      It would be better and easier to follow if you copied and pasted your stats, but it looks like your Sky router is performing better.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this bad latency?

      Are those new stats with or without the telephone connected alongside the router and with or without the Comtrend homeplugs switched on?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION