Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Faster speed by switching ?

    This is a discussion on Faster speed by switching ? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently getting 4meg speed with sky and since they dropped their download limit to 10 gig on the ...

    1. #1
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faster speed by switching ?

      I am currently getting 4meg speed with sky and since they dropped their download limit to 10 gig on the mid I have had to move to the max package so I am paying 10 a month for a 20meg line but getting 4 meg.

      As I am an O2 customer, they are doing an up to 8 meg package (with unlimited downloads) for 7.34per month with the 1st 3 months is free.

      My question is - am I likely to get exactly the same speed with O2 as it is distance from the exchange dependant or could it be faster? Or even slower ?

      I know the grass isn't always greener elsewhere so really do not want to move and it is not up to scratch. I have heard good reviews on O2 broadband and wondered if anyone had any experience of them.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      Have a look on here

      O2User - Unofficial help and support for O2

      Skyuser new sister site

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      You'll likely get a better speed with O2 as they have a lower target SNR than Sky which will equate to a higher connection speed. They also seem to be less conservative than Sky when it comes to line training.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      And they dont have a problem with fastpath, which makes me think why am I waiting till december ?


    6. #5
      stu_uk's Avatar
      stu_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      I am in the process of moving to O2, sky took 13 days to give me my MAC O2 from signing up on line sent me a flurry of txts confirming line checking DD setup and install date.

      I had to phone the free support line, it was answered in seconds an the member of staff was helpfull and got what I required completed with a minimum of fuss and hassle. Sky really need to learn from this.

      Id move asap

    7. #6
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      Thanks for the comments.
      Having TV, phone and broadband all with one provider is easier to keep track of but at less money and potentially quicker speed, I think this is a no-brainer.

      Right, I have had Skys broadband for over 18 months but as I have recently moved from their Mid to Max package, this does not mean that I am locked into another 1 yr contract at time of switch does it ? Please tell me I can switch whenever I wish ?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      Quote Originally Posted by stu_uk View Post
      I am in the process of moving to O2, sky took 13 days to give me my MAC O2 from signing up on line sent me a flurry of txts confirming line checking DD setup and install date.

      I had to phone the free support line, it was answered in seconds an the member of staff was helpfull and got what I required completed with a minimum of fuss and hassle. Sky really need to learn from this.

      Id move asap
      not saying it'll happen - but what happens when O2 have the same user base as Sky??

      just cause it's good now doesn't mean it'll stay that way...

      AND, this is more a note to the admin, but why does SkyUser have ads for O2/Virgin/etc yet O2User have nothing but O2 ads?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      not saying it'll happen - but what happens when O2 have the same user base as Sky??
      All these issues that are occuring recently are not due to capacity though, are they.
      Last edited by neilmcl; 14-09-09 at 08:20 PM.

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      just cause it's good now doesn't mean it'll stay that way...
      Mmmm, interesting point. O2 seem to be building a reputation for good customer service. I dont think once they match the Sky user base ( if they do ) they will suddenly adopt Sky's attitude to customer service. That would be a backward step. You may be right that in the future costs will go up and limitations may be introduced, but at the moment they seem to be providing a more competetive service, which will become even more attractive come January.


    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Faster speed by switching ?

      it's more making a point on getting someone on the line instantly - Sky are bombarded with calls 24/7 - and not just tech - so there'll be periods of the day when it'll be hard to get hold of someone...it's the same with an large company...

      not that it's acceptable, though...and Sky's attitude is fine, if anything it's people calling expecting things to be done on a business level SLA...

      Sky BB's SLA is to fix it asap - be that a day or a month...if factors dictate a long fix time then nothing can be done...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION