Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Line Stats Question

    This is a discussion on Line Stats Question within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Firstly I apologise if I have missed the correct place for posting this, or if you aren't meant to post ...

    1. #1
      marc-h's Avatar
      marc-h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Stats Question

      Firstly I apologise if I have missed the correct place for posting this, or if you aren't meant to post it all.

      Could someone have a look at the following stats and let me know if they look about right. I usually get about 14000Kbps on speed test.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17021 kbps 1048 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 8 db


      Thanks in advance for any response.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      They could probably be configured to give you a bit more, but as they are you will have a very fast stable connection.

      Plug into your Test socket and post the stats from there, link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      marc-h's Avatar
      marc-h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      Thanks for the reply.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17021 kbps 1044 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 8 db


      That is what I got from the test socket.

    5. #4
      marc-h's Avatar
      marc-h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question



      Last speed test.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      Not much difference. You could try phoning Sky and ask them if they can up your speed a bit, I would say you have at least a Mb in hand. They may say your line would not be stable if the speed is increased, if they do, I would just accept it. You have a good speed with a good margin, many would pay a lot more to have the same as you.

      If you are running XP you could try doing the Tweak Test from the DrTCP link below and if it makes recommendations, download the application to apply them. This may give you a few more Ks in your actual download. There are recommendations there for Vista, but normally it is quite good out of the box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      marc-h's Avatar
      marc-h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      It may be apparent from my upload speed but I had the email from Sky recently about them making changes to my connection and telling me I may see increased speed. Then it seemed to run though the 10 days of profiling (I did read about this but forgot the proper name) when my upload speed got gradually higher. Download speed didn't really change though.

      Thanks again for your help.

    8. #7
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      losing 3 mb in through put is rather high I think.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      losing 3 mb in through put is rather high I think.
      You would expect a throughput of 85/90%, that is why I think DrTCP might help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      marc-h's Avatar
      marc-h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats Question

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You would expect a throughput of 85/90%, that is why I think DrTCP might help.
      I am using Windows 7 but gave Dr TCP a try, there was recommendation for Max Receive Window (think it was that) so I adjusted that. Didn't make much difference.

      I have run a few speed test and it sometimes gets up to about 14600kbps which isn't too bad for my connection speed I guess.

      Thanks for the advice.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION