Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

    This is a discussion on 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all, I'm having some problems getting the full 10Mbps I'm supposed to be getting on my line. I'm on ...

    1. #1
      DeShark's Avatar
      DeShark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Accrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Hello all, I'm having some problems getting the full 10Mbps I'm supposed to be getting on my line. I'm on Sky Everyday and I'm only clocking 0.65Mbps upload and 0.35Mbps download. This is on both the master socket and the test line of the master socket. And finally, here's the stats from my router:
      Code:
      System Up Time 00:07:53
      Port 	Status 	TxPkts 	RxPkts 	Collisions 	Tx B/s 	Rx B/s 	Up Time
      WAN 	PPPoA 	1173 	1606 	0 	1316 	4267 	00:06:51
      LAN 	10M/100M 	142 	0 	0 	117 	0 	00:07:50
      WLAN 	11M/54M 	1976 	1556 	0 	4194 	1383 	00:07:43
      
      ADSL Link 	Downstream 	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	767 kbps 	412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	50.0 db 	27.0 db
      Noise Margin 	27.0 db 	22.5 db
      If anyone has any ideas on how I can bump this up to a higher rate I'd love them forever! I'm downloading a disk image and it's going at 80kB/s, not what I was expecting off a 10Mb/s line!!

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      I'm sorry but there's no way you could get the full 10mbps with that line attenuation. You line length suggests you may get 7mbps at the most. Your line has been heavily capped, probably by the the DLM line training believing there was a problem with your line. Did you switch off your router much during DLM?

      Contact Sky and ask them to take a look at your speed as it's been set incorrectly, you shouldn't have too much difficulty getting it resolved once you've passed though the usual hoops of tier 1 support.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Where are these stats from? If you are capped the speed won't change but the Noise margin and attenuation will. Post a set of stats from both locations for comparrison.

    5. #4
      DeShark's Avatar
      DeShark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Accrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      The stats are from the stats page on my router (Netgear DG834GT). As far as I know, the router was left on full time, but I'm not the only one living here, so someone else could've played around with it. If by usual hoops of tier 1 support you mean all that BS with "um, ok reboot the router" "I already did... 5 times" "Well just do it one more time" "sigh... ok" "And now can you plug it into the master socket" "I just did" "And the test socket" "sigh..." then it'd better pay off!

      Am I ok saying "Could you take a look at my speed as it seems to have been set incorrectly" or should I say "I seem to be getting a maximum of 80kbytes/s when downloading and I did a speed test and it says I'm getting 0.6Megabits/s, when I'm supposed to be closer to 7Megabits". I'm fine with not getting the maximum 10Mb/s, but it's a bit ridiculous to not even get a tenth of what I'm paying for.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Phone Sky, don't say anything about speed, tell them you are a gamer and would like your delay reduced. You should be put straight through to CST. When you get there tell the agent that your speed is very low and you have a down stream noise margin of 27dbs. Unless you are very unlucky, he/she will see the problem immediately and reset your speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Quote Originally Posted by DeShark View Post
      Am I ok saying "Could you take a look at my speed as it seems to have been set incorrectly" or should I say "I seem to be getting a maximum of 80kbytes/s when downloading and I did a speed test and it says I'm getting 0.6Megabits/s, when I'm supposed to be closer to 7Megabits". I'm fine with not getting the maximum 10Mb/s, but it's a bit ridiculous to not even get a tenth of what I'm paying for.
      You should be OK explaining with that, even the most cautious of tier 1 guys will see somethings clearly not right as the speed will be well below their initial estimate. If they try to push you about your connection just tell them you've already got your router plugged into the test socket and nothing else is connected, and you've rebooted a number of times to no avail, etc, etc.

      Also, if you ring after 10:00pm you'll stand a better chance of getting passed on quicker to CST, also you're more likely to get through to the UK support desk in the evening, which unfortunately can make all the difference.

    8. #7
      DeShark's Avatar
      DeShark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Accrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      I've just rang sky and told them the problem. They still made me go through the connection to the test line and master socket routine, before telling me that the line was tested a year ago and the maximum speed available was 512kbit/s. They said that the problem was with BT and not with sky and that I'm in the middle of DLM. Additionally, the stats have changed. Here's the line data for when I'm plugged into the test socket:

      Connection Speed 384 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 27.2 db
      Noise Margin 25.6 db 23.0 db

      I'm currently waiting in a queue to speak with BT and am wondering if the problem really is with BT or if the guy on the phone doesn't know what he's talking about?

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Quote Originally Posted by DeShark View Post
      I've just rang sky and told them the problem. They still made me go through the connection to the test line and master socket routine, before telling me that the line was tested a year ago and the maximum speed available was 512kbit/s. They said that the problem was with BT and not with sky and that I'm in the middle of DLM. Additionally, the stats have changed. Here's the line data for when I'm plugged into the test socket:

      Connection Speed 384 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 27.2 db
      Noise Margin 25.6 db 23.0 db

      I'm currently waiting in a queue to speak with BT and am wondering if the problem really is with BT or if the guy on the phone doesn't know what he's talking about?
      At the moment you are clearly capped, ask for the cap to be lifted and don't forget the upstream also.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      You should have taken my advice, Tier 1 have a few good agents but they are few and far between. They can't see your noise margin, which CST can.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      DeShark's Avatar
      DeShark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Accrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 0.65Mbps on a "10Mbps" connection! Help?!

      Finally got through to CST after the cordless phone cutting out on me while I was in the queue and having to ring back again and explain everything for the 4th time.

      Anyway, they bumped the line speed up to 4 Meg down and 0.5 Meg up.

      Here's the stats:

      Connection Speed 4799 kbps 542 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 18.5 db


      I'd just like to say thanks to you all for your help! I can finally get some work done!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION