Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    installing a filtered master faceplate

    This is a discussion on installing a filtered master faceplate within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please could someone tell me whether I can install this: XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation with this master ...

    1. #1
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      installing a filtered master faceplate

      Please could someone tell me whether I can install this:

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      with this master socket:

      http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/6867/telephone008.jpg

      That is my thumb The cable looks like it has better days but I can't do anything about that, it's on BT's side of the master socket.

      I think that the socket the router is plugged into is a spur and actually bypasses the master socket so I'm not too sure how this could benefit me? Is it still worth obtaining?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing a filtered master faceplate

      Quote Originally Posted by Blue Lou View Post
      Please could someone tell me whether I can install this:

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      with this master socket:

      http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/6867/telephone008.jpg

      That is my thumb The cable looks like it has better days but I can't do anything about that, it's on BT's side of the master socket.

      I think that the socket the router is plugged into is a spur and actually bypasses the master socket so I'm not too sure how this could benefit me? Is it still worth obtaining?
      Yes, that will work fine with that socket.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: installing a filtered master faceplate

      I think that the socket the router is plugged into is a spur and actually bypasses the master socket so I'm not too sure how this could benefit me? Is it still worth obtaining?
      Unless you plug into the filtered socket it will do no good whatsoever. If your router is plugged into an extension which does not come from the Master socket, that in itself could be causing problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing a filtered master faceplate

      Thanks guys, I took the ringwire out of my extension cable.. hopefully I'll notice a difference in the coming weeks

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: installing a filtered master faceplate

      What are your current stats.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: installing a filtered master faceplate

      Did you check if the extension you are using is connected to the Master socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION