Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

    This is a discussion on Line Attenuation higher than it should be? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Heres my router stats at the moment: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 3168 kbps 416 kbps Line Attenuation 57 ...

    1. #1
      Vistrix's Avatar
      Vistrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      Heres my router stats at the moment:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3168 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 13 db

      I recently complained to Sky as my line was syncing at 1.5kbps, they did something and now its syncing at this speed.

      Im approximately 1.5km away from my nearest exchange (in a straight line anyway). Is there a problem on my end perhaps? Just wondering if I can get anymore out of the line.

      Im a Sky Max customer.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      Line attenuation is a product of line length.
      It cant be higher or lower than it should be - it is what it is.
      The distance in a straight line to the exchange isnt necesarily the length of your line, it could take a longer route.
      This thread explains all http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html


    4. #3
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      Plus you have a VERY low noise margin there too - Have you tried connecting to the test socket if you have one, or even just the master socket with everything else unplugged?

      Mike

    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      Quote Originally Posted by Vistrix View Post
      Heres my router stats at the moment:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3168 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 13 db

      I recently complained to Sky as my line was syncing at 1.5kbps, they did something and now its syncing at this speed.

      Im approximately 1.5km away from my nearest exchange (in a straight line anyway). Is there a problem on my end perhaps? Just wondering if I can get anymore out of the line.

      Im a Sky Max customer.

      Thanks.
      Here is what you could expect with your line attenuation of 57db. Sadly your 1.5km statement is wrong. its actual more like 4.1km to the exchange

      Estimation of your maximum rate adaptive adsl speed

      Downstream
      Attenuation 57dB Approx 4.1km Line Length

      dslMAX 3200kbps IP Profile 2500 kbps

      adsl2+ (21CN) 3488kbps IP Profile 3000 kbps

      adsl2+ (LLU) 3488kbps Throughput 3087kbps

    6. #5
      Vistrix's Avatar
      Vistrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Line attenuation is a product of line length.
      It cant be higher or lower than it should be - it is what it is.
      The distance in a straight line to the exchange isnt necesarily the length of your line, it could take a longer route.
      This thread explains all http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html
      Cant my internal wirings affect the line attenuation in any way though?

      Quote Originally Posted by GSMGuy View Post
      Plus you have a VERY low noise margin there too - Have you tried connecting to the test socket if you have one, or even just the master socket with everything else unplugged?

      Mike
      Its currently plugged straight into the master socket with a built in faceplate I bought from BT. But Ill try plugging it into the test socket to see if it makes a difference...

      I only have 1 phone connected throughout the house, which is also using the master socket.

      Quote Originally Posted by joss View Post
      Here is what you could expect with your line attenuation of 57db. Sadly your 1.5km statement is wrong. its actual more like 4.1km to the exchange

      Estimation of your maximum rate adaptive adsl speed

      Downstream
      Attenuation 57dB Approx 4.1km Line Length

      dslMAX 3200kbps IP Profile 2500 kbps

      adsl2+ (21CN) 3488kbps IP Profile 3000 kbps

      adsl2+ (LLU) 3488kbps Throughput 3087kbps
      I did do that test, which is what made me create this thread... The exchange is literally just down the road from me. I did a google maps search and its actually 0.8km in a direct line & 1.8km via car.

      Surely the cables arent going to be 4.1km in length if I'm so close to it? I was just wondering if anything else is affecting the line attenuation.

      The funny thing is, I use to get 1.5-2mb speeds with Sky before ringing them up and I swear the line attenuation was lower than 57...

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Attenuation higher than it should be?

      try your details in Sam KNows and see what line attenuation and distance are then post back. Just because you live x distance from the exchange does not follow the wires will be the same. They could divert here and there more than you think

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION