Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Connect Newbie

    This is a discussion on Connect Newbie within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, my 10 day training period is due to end tomorrow and I was wondering whether I am likely to ...

    1. #1
      jamesy101's Avatar
      jamesy101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01584
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connect Newbie

      Hi, my 10 day training period is due to end tomorrow and I was wondering whether I am likely to see much of an improvement. My current router stats are as follows and this seems low compared to what I was expecting when I checked my estimated speeds online.

      Connection Speed 1600 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34 db 10.5 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 22 db

      Sky's own site estimated 5mb whereas my downstream attenuation seemingly corresponded to a potential 10-14mb according to one site which was linked to from this forum.

      Thanks in advance for any help or advice


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      jamesy101
      Go to your my Sky login click on Broadband Service Details and you will find there your estimate BB speed
      Hi I wonder if you have seen Sky`s T&Cs on the connect package


      SKY BROADBAND CONNECT TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT POLICY

      In addition to the monthly Usage Cap, this Traffic Management Policy applies to you if you take Sky Broadband Connect.
      Excessive use during peak time

      We will monitor your Sky Broadband usage during peak times from 5pm to 12am each day. This is when the majority of customers use the network and when speeds could be affected by the excessive usage of a minority. If we consider that your usage is excessive during peak times we may slow down your connection for the rest of the day so that it has less affect on others. Only a very small number of customers will be affected by this (less than 2%). If you are affected, we will only slow down the speed you can get during peak times for applications which use a lot of bandwidth (for example, streaming, peer-to-peer and newsgroups) and which have a negative effect on other customers. You will still be able to use Sky Broadband to do other things normally such as browsing, email, instant messaging and VOIP. There are no restrictions in place outside of peak times.

      Traffic management of our Network

      To ensure we provide a sustainable quality broadband service to our customers, we continuously monitor and efficiently manage the Sky Network as a whole. To do this, during peak times (from 5pm to 12am each day), we may slow down the speed that all Sky Broadband Connect customers can get on certain applications which we consider use up a lot of bandwidth (for example peer-to-peer and newsgroups) and which have a negative affect on other customers There are no restrictions in place for applications such as browsing, email, streaming, instant messaging and VOIP during peak times. We do not put restrictions on our network outside of peak times.

    4. #3
      jamesy101's Avatar
      jamesy101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01584
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      Hi, I can't find that part of the site so it looks like I might have to get the primary user thing to actually work.

      I've entered the viewing card number and it all seems fine. Checked that activation type email and logged in but it still tells me I'm not a primary user. I have even tried using the last 6 digits of the payment account which it insists are wrong despite corresponding to the bank statement and previous correspondence from Sky. I'm at my wits end with this mySky rubbish and I am tempted to call Sky tonight in order to get it sorted out.

      Has anyone else had this sort of problem? I'm wondering whether it might be because they managed to spell my dad's name wrong on their database, though I don't see how that would make a huge amount of difference when registering for a MySky account

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      You seem to have a lot of noise on your line, chances are it is something your end, do you have a test socket (see sig for deatils) if you do get the stats from there and post them.

    6. #5
      jamesy101's Avatar
      jamesy101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01584
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You seem to have a lot of noise on your line, chances are it is something your end, do you have a test socket (see sig for deatils) if you do get the stats from there and post them.
      I'll leave it until I'm positive we're off testing, don't fancy Sky moaning about us moving the router. I'll find the test socket, I'm sure I've seen it (behind the faceplate right?) and give the router a go there. If that does improve it, can I use a direct extension to put the router in a convenient place?

      As far as wireless signal goes I think I can afford to be a little flexible with the router position as I'm intending to turn off DHCP on my old netgear and bridge it to my room so we have signal in this half of the house and I can use my laptop wired when at my desk

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      Are you on Connect, your stats indicate that you are? If so moving the router will make no difference, Bt's system is not like Sky's. In fact many recommend that the router be re-synced with the exchange every day until the training is complete.

      Post your stats from the Test socket, you should be getting a much better sync speed than you are.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      As IsItMe states, if your on Connect it makes no difference if you disconnect the router. Get the stats from both positions, you should be getting better speeds.

      Remember though, this will not fix the limitations of the Connect package, you are stuck with them until you've had enough and leave for a better ISP.

    9. #8
      jamesy101's Avatar
      jamesy101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01584
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      Okay I'll give it a shot when dad and I are next both at home and let you know how it goes. Is Connect really horrendous? It does work out as a good deal when coupled with phone and TV. The standard Orange broadband had always served us well enough since we petitioned for broadband about 5 years ago. In fact, my brother has already commented that his 360 connection has been pretty epic thus far. We're not very heavy users (some downloads) and our traffic will decrease substantially when I go to uni in October.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      To be fair, some users notice no problems with the Connect package because the way they use the internet is not as demanding.

      Things like downloading, gaming and P2P seem to be the worst hit and it seems some exchanges suffer more than most.

      As it is so hit and miss, I would not recommend it to anyone.

    11. #10
      jamesy101's Avatar
      jamesy101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01584
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect Newbie

      I'm wondering whether we are lucky in that we only have a small number of households connected to the exchange.

      Is there any chance we wouldn't have a test socket? At present I don't seem to be able to find anything which resembles the "split" faceplate I ought to be looking for though I might just be blind.

      I ran a BT check which seems to suggest that my throughput is actually pretty good, would I be correct to think that the problem is likely to be in the speed I am negotiating with the exchange and thus at my end?

      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      Your DSL connection rate: 1600 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 1250 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1115 kbps

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION