Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Seriously Slow Sky Broadband within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; GamingJon Hi if you are paying 5.00 the reason is Sky were supposed to be unbundling exchanges but have not ...

    1. #11
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      GamingJon
      Hi if you are paying 5.00 the reason is Sky were supposed to be unbundling exchanges but have not and does not look like they are going to in the near future. The connect package which is a Bt Rebranded product not LLU you need to check out which exchange you are on
      and put on your next post
      OK so I can't upgrade from Connect, however currently I on a package where I get Sky Talk is 5 per month Sky Broadband Connect and Sky TV at a reduced cost. This package deal is coming to an end soon. Would I be able to change to
      As Smithy99 say the only way is to leave
      If my speed was faster


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      GamingJon's Avatar
      GamingJon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      Ok checking that now from the link you put up in the previous post.

      Which Extras shall I tick?

      ADSL Line Check
      ADSL Max Line Check
      SDSL Line Check
      WBC Line Check
      Services Check

    4. #13
      GamingJon's Avatar
      GamingJon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      I have run the test and I am shocked.

      The only ISP in my LLU is Tiscali. Everyone else has a red cross. I am currently checking out Tiscali deals.

    5. #14
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      I have only ever seen horror stories with Tiscali although these may not have been on their LLU, I would be very careful!!!

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      upstream speed smells of Base...unless there's a line issue (test socket would prove this) then it should be 448kbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      GamingJon's Avatar
      GamingJon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      OK thanks for all the advice guys. I am thinking of trying a few things with my current broadband connection before switching and would love some advice.

      Option 1 - switch the router from downstairs to upstiars and have a ethernet cable going through the floorboards to the router. (Would this improve speed to both computers or just boost signal?)

      Option 2 - When I purchased Sky Broadband Connect they issued me with 2 routers, is it worth switching the router i have plugged in currently for the second router they sent me? (The second router has different SSID/Network Key would this cause problems?)

      Option 3 - Is it possible to use the second router on the upstairs computer but still connect to the same internet connection?

      Thanks GamingJon

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Seriously Slow Sky Broadband

      Option 1 is best BUT if you are on Connect then come evening time (5-midnight) you'll notice the traffic shaping...always best get internal setup as best as it can be regardless of ISP...

      Option 2 - probably have no affect...

      Option 3 - No, only one router can be on the line at one time...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION