Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 24 of 24

    20 meg question

    This is a discussion on 20 meg question within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I can't agree with you there Smithy, a good quality twisted RJ11 will give no problems at this length. and ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      I can't agree with you there Smithy, a good quality twisted RJ11 will give no problems at this length. and can be much more convenient then an ethernet cable. I have a 10 metre one myself although I don't really need it now, I have been too idle to change it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      What speeds and stats are you getting out of interest?

      My BB just went off and its now gone up to 13823

      As i get 13.5-14db without the extension would this mean Sky would up my speed again if i rang up?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      Check in the Broadband details in your MySky page, see if your line is training. It is possible Support have started DLM on your line again. That would normally be the only reason the router would resync and connect at a higher speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      No it says "Line testing is not currently in progress."

      Its probably changed due my my call to them last night

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION