Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    20 meg question

    This is a discussion on 20 meg question within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just had it all off and i only have 2 wires connected inside the whole box so that's ...

    1. #11
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      I have just had it all off and i only have 2 wires connected inside the whole box so that's OK


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      No the extension wasn't dead because the internet was working. Do you mean wires connected to the actual front face?
      Can we just get this completely clear? When you remove the faceplate from the box there are no wires attached to it, you have fixed extensions, you have a test socket, link below and the extension works when the faceplate is removed.

      If the answer to these is Yes, then your wiring is in a mess and needs sorted out before you go any further.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      When i remove the faceplate i have no wires attached to it and I'm talking about a phone extension plugged into the test socket, that's how i get the internet upstairs



      I only have 1 socket in the whole house

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      In that case there should be little or no difference between the Test socket and the main faceplate. The drop you are seeing is purely down to the plug in extension you are using. How far is your PC position from the Master socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      I have taken the PC and modem downstairs and i get the same results as when its in

      The extension is about 20 foot long

    7. #16
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      Well i just rang Sky and they said i should be able to get 15 and they were going to up the cap, he went away then came back and said the connection wouldn't take 15 i could only get 13.5 but he said he left it at 12

      I asked what i could do and he said the same that's already been said on here about the test socket and filters ect

      I guess i'm stuck at 12

      Edit: The noise is down to 7.2 now and i read the best is 6.9, that baffles me as to why i cant get better speeds even more

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      Edit: The noise is down to 7.2 now and i read the best is 6.9, that baffles me as to why i cant get better speeds even more
      6.9dbs is the default setting for Sky, this does not mean that it is the best, the higher the figure the more stable your connection will be. Your best figure is the 13.5 you achieved without the extension.

      What I would advise is plugging your router directly into the master socket and buying a 7-10M ethernet cable to join the PC to the router. This would give you the best result possible. If you have more than 1 PC, then a 7-10M RJ11 cable from the master socket to your PCs position would be the best solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      I think i can get a Cheap RJ11 cable so i may give that a go today

      Thanks

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      For a cable of this length, I would not recommend 'cheap'. That usually means a flat telephone extension with RJ11 plugs. This is little better than using an ordinary telephone extension. Get something like this and you will have less problems. - ADSL Nation LTD.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: 20 meg question

      You would be much better going down the ethernet router and leaving the router at the master socket.

      If you have more than one PC connected to it. you could always buy a cheap hub/switcher for upstairs.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION