Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 48

    SkyMax (Unlimited?)

    This is a discussion on SkyMax (Unlimited?) within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK guys thanks for your input; over an hour on the phone... At first I spoke to some chap in ...

    1. #31
      SKYGhost's Avatar
      SKYGhost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beulah Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      OK guys thanks for your input; over an hour on the phone...

      At first I spoke to some chap in the east who was helpful and suggested I get a test done on the test socket which I got... after about 40 mins on hold.

      The guy said he couldn't put my line at anything above 16mb/s as my account said Sky Max on it; I pointed out that Sky Max was finishe when I signed up and he spoke to customer services who gave him the ok.

      Cool; he made some adjustments and I ran a speed test the second the line was back up. Just for laughs here's the result:



      Now clearly this is not going to be the reality of the matter... but it looks nice. When it settles down I'll post again.

      Thanks for the advice again!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      SKYGhost's Avatar
      SKYGhost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beulah Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)



      OK now I'm hoping it's settled down!
      Last edited by SKYGhost; 09-07-09 at 09:38 PM.

    4. #33
      SKYGhost's Avatar
      SKYGhost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beulah Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)




      Can't explain this!

      Not a constant speed, but it makes you wonder what's really possible!

    5. #34
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      so if you try a proper speed test site what you get?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #35
      SKYGhost's Avatar
      SKYGhost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beulah Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)



      Does that count as proper?

      My average on Speedtest.net comes in around 18mb if I discount the massive results that I got. Clearly some kind of spike..

    7. #36
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      go to BT Openworld and download the large file - it's a more real world result...you should be seeing over 2MB/sec transfer rate...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #37
      SKYGhost's Avatar
      SKYGhost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beulah Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      Yes, about 2.1 - 2.3.

      No improvement in my uploads and that's my real concern. I take a lot of photos and I use Live Drive to store them online... still big improvement over my old BT Connection.

      Edit: I take that back, certainly seems to be much speedier in real world terms even if that isn't showing on sppedtest.net.

      Good job Sky, credit where it's due and all that!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19269 kbps 1024 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.5 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 7.5 db
      Last edited by SKYGhost; 09-07-09 at 11:27 PM.

    9. #38
      Azasmith's Avatar
      Azasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrowden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Wellingborough, UK
      Posts
      292
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      My internet just cut out, went into my router stats, refreshed to find the following new stats.

      Connection Speed 19007 kbps 924 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 6.9 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 11.5 db

      Does this mean my line will go through DLM again? Or is it going to stay at 19007 and 924?

    10. #39
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      NIce stats, DLM should always be on unless CST have suspended it so it is always monitoring the line. I doubt it will be ran again unless you are in the batch of existing customer that are due to get it in the next month or so.

    11. #40
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyMax (Unlimited?)

      it might kick in automatically if it sees a build up of errors on the line...that's what it's meant to do anyway...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION