Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Ali's stats?

    This is a discussion on Ali's stats? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I'm not sure if these are good, average or bad .Any help or advice would be great. ADSL Link ...

    1. #1
      Alip224's Avatar
      Alip224 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: risca
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ali's stats?

      Hi
      I'm not sure if these are good, average or bad .Any help or advice would be great.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 512 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 23.2 db
      Noise Margin 20.9 db 23.0 db

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/504415371.png

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      your line is quite heavily capped, try connecting to the test socket to see if anything changes and if it does then it points to an internal wiring problem, but try the test socket first.

    4. #3
      Alip224's Avatar
      Alip224 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: risca
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Sorry,should have said.I went to the socket that comes in from outside.removed the bottom half of the face plate and plugged in there.The tests were done both wireless and with the yellow cable,the results were almost identical every time.

      P S Thanks for the quick reply.

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      When you connected to the test socket did the router stats change from what they are in the normal postion.

    6. #5
      Alip224's Avatar
      Alip224 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: risca
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Nope.No change from when it is plugged in the extension upstairs.

    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Phone sky and ask for the cap to be raised.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Nope.No change from when it is plugged in the extension upstairs.
      You do understand that the line is capped, therefore your speed will not increase. What you are looking for is a change in the noise margin? Lines are not usually capped for no reason so I suspect your internal wiring is causing a problem. Post your stats from your upstairs socket, I will be surprised if you noise margin does not drop.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Alip224's Avatar
      Alip224 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: risca
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Here are the router stats when plugged in upstairs extension.

      Connection Speed 512 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.5 db 23.3 db
      Noise Margin 20.1 db 23.0 db

      thanks

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      pretty much difference then, it's a huge cap...give Sky a buzz and CST can sort you out...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Alip224's Avatar
      Alip224 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: risca
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ali's stats?

      Phoned sky earleir.passed through to second tier i think and they have put my speed up,Here are the new stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6784 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.5 db 23.4 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 23.0 db
      and speed test here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION