Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

    This is a discussion on SNR , whats the lowest it can go? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I used to get Disconnects with BT if the SNR dropped below 7 , whats the lowest it can go ...

    1. #1
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      I used to get Disconnects with BT if the SNR dropped below 7 , whats the lowest it can go before it disconnects with SKY?. Or does it not work like that

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      Quote Originally Posted by BLOODUK View Post
      I used to get Disconnects with BT if the SNR dropped below 7 , whats the lowest it can go before it disconnects with SKY?. Or does it not work like that

      Thanks
      I've seen my box reporting 3 and 4 dB. However at that point the internet no longer works! The box re-synched at a lower speed a few mins later. The box seems to like approx 7dB.

    4. #3
      BLOODUK's Avatar
      BLOODUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Everything
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      Interesting , thanks

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      I have sky's V1 white netgear and my noise margin has gone as low as 3.5db and the connection held solid.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      on Connect, with my Phase 2 Netgear I've had 2-3 and it's been fine...only a couple of times mind...normally around 6-7
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      Non sky DG834GT will happily hold on to a solid connection of 3db

    8. #7
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      I've had a Sky v2 DG934G hold a connection with noise margin at 0db and lower( -1db according to routerstats ) until a re-sync.
      I'd still dump it for a "Broadcomm" chipset based router though if Sky's T&C would allow it. ( as they're more stable on my long line which suffers from night-time interference )

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      Well blood is in luck, because the Sagem has a Broadcom chip set (as does his Speedtouch) The very best router I have seen on Easynet (uk online) was a Billion 7402GXL on my sons line (52dB att and a sync of 6144). I tried it on my line and the noise margin increased by 5db (it syncs at 16meg) and once the speed upgrade goes through I may give it another go.

    10. #9
      izools's Avatar
      izools is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      Billion routers are definitely the best. Namely the 7402 series, as Brian69 mentioned.

      Reason being that Sky / Easynet use Globespan DSLAMs which contain a Conexant chipset. The Billion 7402 series of routers contain the same type of Conexant chipset that are inside the LLU DSLAMs, so they "get on" really well.

      I remember when I was with Sky before at my old house, my old Billion 7402GL would connect at 5.8 meg on a 54dB line, a huge improvment over anything based on the Broadcom (Sagem F@st, DG834GT) or TI AR7 (DG934G) chipsets.

      Oh, and I wouldn't worry about it breaching the Sky Ts and Cs - as I remember talking to Customer Solutions back along at Sky and I told him I was using a Billion router because he didn't understand why ADSL 2 was giving better results than G.DMT or ADSL 2+ on my longish line (As we know, ADSL 2 / 2+ upstream can be rubbish on Broadcom routers & Sky LLU, eh? Not with Billion 7402s!)


      When I have some spare cash I will be purchasing a Billion 7402NX router. They are very expensive (best price I've found is 135) but they are absolutely bomb proof routers especially when used on Easynet LLU. Plus the 7402NX gives me wireless-N and 3G fallback which is a nice feature to take advantage of my OH's free 3G Dongle and free usage from Vodafone (works for them).

      Billion 7402 FTW!!!

    11. #10
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: SNR , whats the lowest it can go?

      looool some one give izools commission quick

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION