Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    What should my speed be?

    This is a discussion on What should my speed be? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there - I've just moved to Sky Connect from BT , where I used to get speeds of about ...

    1. #1
      powdr99's Avatar
      powdr99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ascot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What should my speed be?

      Hi there - I've just moved to Sky Connect from BT, where I used to get speeds of about 5mb. Since the move I now gets speeds of about 2 mb or slower.

      When I enter my postcode into the broadband speed checker on both Sky and BT websites they tell me I should get speeds of 5.5 mb but when I enter my phone number instead both sites tell me I should get 2 mb (which is what I'm getting).

      I've spoke to Sky who suggested it was BT's fault, and BT who told me they couldnt help as I was a Sky customer. I'm a bit confused - can anyone offer a suggestion
      1 - why the postcode gives a different result to the phone number (they both use the same exchange)
      2 - why the speed might have changed when I moved to Sky

      I'm afraid I'm not really that broadband savvy. But stats as follows if they are of any use. Your help is really appreciated.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2752 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 15.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.9 db 23.0 db

      I'm also getting occasional dropouts but that's another story.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Your line will be in training for 10 days or so where the BT RAMBO system will set the line to it's maximum stable setting.

      If you are a gamer or like to download more than a few gigs a week it may be worth reading some of the many threads on this site concerning the Sky Connect package.

      It is suffering some major problems and people are not having very good experiences as of late, expecially gamers.

      You have 8 days cooling off period to switch suppliers without penalty, I would use it before you lose it

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      you should get the 8Mbps offered on Connect, so you've either got a wiring issue or a line issue...if you have a test socket repost form there
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      powdr99's Avatar
      powdr99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ascot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Thanks for your answers guys - I'm afraid I don't have a test socket (took the faceplate off but there's no test socket underneath), and I'm out of the 10 day period now.

      Who do you think I should contact for resolution? Sky or BT?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Personally, I'd get an NTE5 fitted with a filtered faceplate as unless BT have put a cap on the line (e.g. Home/Office 2000 as opposed to IPStream Max) then until the sync rate goes up you won't get better...

      Out of interest, you got everything filtered correctly - as in filter into socket first with everything plugged into it and not TV splitter in first with filter into that? That'll cause all sorts of problems if you have...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      powdr99's Avatar
      powdr99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ascot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Yeah the filters are all correct. How can I find out if BT have capped the line?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      call Sky...

      it doesn't look like a cap - it'd probably be 2272/448 - but there's no harm in trying...

      i think you'd be better off sorting out the wiring your end first - perhaps a new filter and remove everything bar the router from it and see if sync rate goes up...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      powdr99's Avatar
      powdr99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ascot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Thanks for your help - I'll do just that and report back. I take it the NTE5 is straightforward enough for me to fit it myself?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      Try a BT Performance Test, this will show your sync, profile and throughput. - Test Result
      Your username is the LAN MAC of your router, no colons, followed by @skydsl.

      Phone Sky though, as IANTE says it looks like you could be on the wrong package. This is a favourite trick with BT and Sky customers.

      The NTE5 is easy to fit if you know one end of a screwdriver from the other.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What should my speed be?

      [QUOTE=
      The NTE5 is easy to fit if you know one end of a screwdriver from the other.[/QUOTE]

      A but! you know the argument that its BT type stuff @ circa 200.00. Of course As suggested, Its an easy job NTE5 Open reach branded are available on a well know auction site

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION