Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

    This is a discussion on New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, This is a great forum. I've learnt a lot and already detatched the bell wire to help things ...

    1. #1
      stuey's Avatar
      stuey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EALGH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      Hi Guys,

      This is a great forum. I've learnt a lot and already detatched the bell wire to help things along.

      Just got MAX service activated on 18th and going through 10 day training period. As I upload files, it would be great if I could have a decent upload speed and i've heard that the network is possibly increasing downloads and upload speeds.

      Here are some stats with the bell wire disconnected (relevant only for the faceplate installed results, obviously)

      Distance from exchange: 0.39 km

      DG834g v3 (my supply) into bare master socket
      D/S 12285 kbps
      D/S L/A 14dB
      D/S N/M 15dB
      U/S 1044kbps
      U/S L/A 3.5dB
      U/S N/M 8dB

      DG834g v3 (my supply) into master socket with faceplace installed
      D/S 12285 kbps
      D/S L/A 14dB
      D/S N/M 14dB
      U/S 980kbps
      U/S L/A 3.5dB
      U/S N/M 7dB


      Sagem (Sky supplied) into bare master socket
      D/S 12280 kbps
      D/S L/A 15.5dB
      D/S N/M 15.8dB
      U/S 1023kbps
      U/S L/A 6.9dB
      U/S N/M 8dB

      Sagem (Sky supplied) into master socket with faceplace installed
      D/S 12280 kbps
      D/S L/A 15.5dB
      D/S N/M 15.5dB
      U/S 1012kbps
      U/S L/A 6.9dB
      U/S N/M 7.5dB



      I was hoping that I would be able to get 20Mb down and 1.5Mb up. Do any of you experts think this is achievable with my stats?

      Thanks in advance
      Last edited by stuey; 20-06-09 at 11:00 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      You should be close to 20mb but I think upload is only going up to 1.3mb which you should get with your stats.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      You should now stop swapping your router around, leave it in one socket permanently connected until DLM completes on your line. Moving the router around as you have done can be interpreted by DLM as your connection dropping and it will reduce your speed instead of increasing it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      stuey's Avatar
      stuey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EALGH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      will do, isitme. it'll be left alone for the remaining 7 days.

      Thanks
      Last edited by stuey; 23-06-09 at 09:56 AM.

    6. #5
      stuey's Avatar
      stuey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EALGH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should now stop swapping your router around, leave it in one socket permanently connected until DLM completes on your line. Moving the router around as you have done can be interpreted by DLM as your connection dropping and it will reduce your speed instead of increasing it.
      Hi,

      My speed for the last 3 days has been the same 12,980 or thereabouts. Do you think that I should get customer services to restart the DLM testing or will it start to increase over time?

      It was on and off a lot (8-10 times) when swapping over the modems, sockets on the initial testing

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      You'll have to wait as you went live before the new speeds went live...it'll go back on soon though...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New MAX user - Sync speeds and Stats advice

      Quote Originally Posted by stuey View Post
      Hi,

      My speed for the last 3 days has been the same 12,980 or thereabouts. Do you think that I should get customer services to restart the DLM testing or will it start to increase over time?

      It was on and off a lot (8-10 times) when swapping over the modems, sockets on the initial testing
      Mine did the same and stuck at that till DLM finished, unfortunately when i contacted sky to increase my download to the full 16Mb they reduced my upload to the standard 768 (it was around 1030+)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION