Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

    This is a discussion on Will i be able to get 20mb on my line? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello new user just wondering if i will be able to get the new 20mb speed that sky are going ...

    1. #1
      jay.s's Avatar
      jay.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      hello new user

      just wondering if i will be able to get the new 20mb speed that sky are going to be roliing out soon? ive been on max since jan and the line has been very stable. ive been getting around 13.4meg download and 796kb upload stats below. is there room for improvement on my line? readings from test socket

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13467 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 9 db



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      You should do although you should be getting 16mb now so either you are still being DLM'ed or you have been capped.

    4. #3
      jay.s's Avatar
      jay.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      cheers for the quick reply

      hmm should i give sky a ring and tell them to try increase the speed?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      How long have you been on Sky Max? if more than a few weeks you could ring Sky CST, you could do this after 10:30pm for a better chance of avoiding 1st Line Support.

      If you do it now, tell 1st Line that you have made improvements to your wiring and now need the cap removed.

    6. #5
      jay.s's Avatar
      jay.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      been on max since januaryi'll give cst a ring tonight , hopefully they can up the speed. i'll let you know how it goes

    7. #6
      jay.s's Avatar
      jay.s is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Albert Dock
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      just got off the phone to sky after an hour at first was put through to some man who was insistant that 13mb was all my line can handle and any more would make it unstable i stuck to my guns tho and after 30 mins of telling him i want it faster he finally put me through to cst spoke to a nice lady who told me a test had recently been run on my line and that i was able to receive 20mb, she said it would have no problem running 16mb and reset the line while she was doing this i thought i would ask about the new speeds, she checked her little book and confirmed that from monday all new customers will get 20mb on the max package, existing customers will be upgraded over the next 2 months and will be done in blocks ( what ever that means ..) anyway gone up a few meg with more to come in the next few months so im happy for now

      stats ( not from test/master socket tho )

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 9 db

      Last edited by jay.s; 18-06-09 at 02:48 AM.

    8. #7
      liam9936's Avatar
      liam9936 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidstone 01622
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Maistone Kent
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      [IMG][/IMG]


      Could anybody tell me if i would be able to get 20mb on my line i live 374 metres from the exchange as the crow flies and my router stats

      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 853 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.5 db 8.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.2 db 12.5 db

    9. #8
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      Your noise margin is on the low side, could you try the test socket and repost your stats, you are looking for an increase in the noise margin that will allow you to go faster.

    10. #9
      liam9936's Avatar
      liam9936 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidstone 01622
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Maistone Kent
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      thanks for the quick reply i am connected into the master socket is there any other ways to increase the noise margin

    11. #10
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be able to get 20mb on my line?

      Does your master socket have a slit running through the middle of the socket if so unscrew the screws and pull the faceplate off and underneath is the test socket that will disconnect all phone wiring in the house to see if that is causing problems.
      Also make sure that the wire going to terminal three is disconnected, this is the ring wire and is not required. Make sure that all phone sockets in the house have the wire disconnected for best results.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION