Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Do my stats seem about right?

    This is a discussion on Do my stats seem about right? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello there, Been on the Sax Max package for about a month now and have noticed that since yesterday, my ...

    1. #1
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Do my stats seem about right?

      Hello there,

      Been on the Sax Max package for about a month now and have noticed that since yesterday, my line is being re-evaluated, at least according to the relevant "My Sky" page?

      Anyway, these are my current stats :

      Down
      17022 kbps
      Attenuation 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db

      Up
      955 kbps
      Attentuation 9.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db

      Do these seem reasonable and workable to you?

      Not had any drops so far, but with presumably DLM kicking in, my sync rate seems to vary between 14000kbps and 17022kbps?

      Wonder what I can expect with those stats once DLM is finished?

      Cheers for any replies!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Looks like sky have done your line, to make the speed higher. the new speed for max is 20mb and a new upload speed of 1.3mb.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Wonder what I can expect with those stats once DLM is finished?
      Looking at your niose margin, unless you can improve your wiring, that's your lot.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Once the DLM has finished I'm going to sort my faceplate out etc - I'd do it now but fear my speed would suffer as a result of me needing to turn off the router briefly...

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Disconnecting once is not going to make any difference. It would be better if you sorted out your wiring before DLM completes. If you don't you are going to have to phone Sky to get it reconfigured, which is not always straight forward.
      If you have extensions in your house, fitting a filtered faceplate, and using it, will nearly always improve your connection. If you don't have extensions, it will make no difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      davejsb's Avatar
      davejsb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSPRE, Ayrshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Okay, sorted out my wiring as best as I could - and it's not made a vast difference :

      Connection Speed 16602 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.9 db

      Connection Speed 980 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db

    8. #7
      MarkBean's Avatar
      MarkBean is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      So much for changing it on monday or August as someone said o.O

      Maybe it's 'upto monday'...

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      the DLM engine has been setting lines higher for the last few weeks - even though it's not officially active yet...new connections only mind...

      and if someone calls, whereas we wouldn't lower speed if it's higher, we won't raise speeds until they've been through DLM again (existing customers will be added to DLM in the following weeks from the 22nd)...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do my stats seem about right?

      Okay, sorted out my wiring as best as I could - and it's not made a vast difference :
      Keep your router powered up now and just let DLM do its job. When it finishes, if it is not satisfactory, you can phone Sky to have it re-configured.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION