Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Line Stats - Help

    This is a discussion on Line Stats - Help within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I recently changed to Sky, and am on the base BB pack, however my speed tests only give me ...

    1. #1
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Line Stats - Help

      Hi, I recently changed to Sky, and am on the base BB pack, however my speed tests only give me 0.33mb which is not good.

      Can someone advise me on the below line stats.
      I have BT coming out to put a BT master socked in as I am running from an NTL one but it looks OK and has the split plate on it , with no extensions attached.
      I am about 1.5 to 2 miles away from the exchange, so I expect I will have to upgrade the mid BB pack. but I was not sure what the below indicted and if their are other issues

      ADSL Link...........Downstream...... Upstream
      Connection Speed....384 kbps...... 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation....59.5 db........... 34.0 db
      Noise Margin........7.4 db........... 15.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      You definately have noise problems on the line. Wait till BT sort your line out and make sure they do fit a NTE5a Master socket and not just tart up the NTL one. When they have done that try your stats again. It is pointless suggesting anything until that is done.

      Your present attenuation suggests you will get about 3-4Mb, but this may change when the wiring is fixed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      Well BT came today and installed a new master socket,

      I then immediatly checked my speed and it was still rubish at 0.33mb - see the link
      is this the right way to show the speed results ? i just copied the link



      Below are my stats after the new socket, which are identical as before, any ideas what the issues are , or should I just be upgrading my speed
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.5 db 34.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 15.0 db

      My BB pack is base, i never expected to get the full 2 but at least 1mb

      All help appreciated

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      1. that's currently the best the line'll give due to the SNR being at 7
      2. you're on adsl2+ which might be hindering you
      3. do you now have a test socket? if so, plug it in there and repost...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      Phone Sky and ask them to put your line on G.DMT. You will have to go through the trouble-shooting with Tier 1, who should then pass you to CST. They will be able to fix you up in minutes. You should be able to get around 3 Mb.

      If you have no extensions the Test socket should give you much the same result, but try it, just in case there is a fault in the faceplate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      Thanks that was great help,
      I just rang sky, he could not get me on G.DMT as he could not get a reading back, but he pushed my speed up , whne he checked the line it will only take 1.3 due to the line itself, but I know have nearly a Meg
      See below speed tests


      He said dont bother upgrading further as your line won't take it

      Not a bad result, but frustrating to hear I cant get any more speed

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      I just rang sky, he could not get me on G.DMT as he could not get a reading back
      That's a strange one, from your previous stats it is difficult to see how he could up your speed without changing the mode and still leave your line stable.

      Can you post your stats now?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dubbsy's Avatar
      dubbsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      here they are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1080 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 33.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 13.0 db

    10. #9
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      Could it be a dodgy router? Noise Margin was the same in each set of stats (7.4db)

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Line Stats - Help

      The only difference I can see is that the upstream margin has dropped a couple of dbs. I don't know if they have used this to balance up the line. I thought it would have been easier to move it to G.DMT, but then, I am not a Sky CST.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION