Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Stats help

    This is a discussion on Stats help within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got my stats from my Sky bb , was wondering if I can actually get a better speed than ...

    1. #1
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stats help

      Just got my stats from my Sky bb, was wondering if I can actually get a better speed than this?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 26.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.5 db 10.5 db

      My router is plugged in upstairs in a telephone point in the master bedroom. I have tried it downstairs at the main point and get exactly the same. However, I have been reading around and I do not have a test port downstairs, when I removed the plate there was just lots of wires coming in from outside!

      Any advice whether I should be getting a better speed please?

      Thanks

      Hark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Are you sure the stats were identical in both sockets? When you took the socket off the wall how many wires were connected to it?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Have a look behind the master socket faceplate again and if there is a wire on terminal 3, pull it off. It is the ring wire and is not required. Some say your should remove this wire on all the sockets, but I don't think this is really necessary.

      Without a Test socket it is almost impossible to say whether you could do better. Your attenuation should support around 6Mb, but noise on your line is pulling this down. I could suggest you get an NTE5 linebox fitted, but you may go to this expense and find the problem is on your external wire and nothing will be gained. Try the ring wire trick first.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Just tried it again downstairs, these are the stats I got:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 26.3 db
      Noise Margin 9.7 db 11.0 db

      any bettter? I',m going to try and post a pic of what the socket islike when unscrewed.

      Also, o2 site says my line should be capable of 7mb while the sky one shows 4mb?!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      I get 5.5Mbps with an attenuation of 46 so there's more to give...unless you get/have a test socket you won't get a lot more...

      remember, speeds are theoretical and are subject to line condition...although theory might say more, in reality this is all you might get...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help







      I think there is a wire attached to terminal 3, how do I remove it and what does this do? I tried tugging at it but it wouldnt budge?!

      Cheers!

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      It should just pull straight up, there are no screws it just slides in between two metal plates.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      I'll try removing it.

      Just phoned up skybroadband and he said the max I can get is 4.5mb, I was thinking of moving onto o2 anyway as they have a great deal on atm anyway, but will they only be able to provide the same speed too, is it the same technology?

      Also, would a test socket faceplate help at all?

      Thanks!

    10. #9
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      harj, You can get a NTE5a master socket from ADSL Nation and fit it yourself, your not surpose to do that, but lots of people are doing it anyway and it only take a few minutes to do. Here is the link.

      ADSL Nation LTD.

      You could also get the IDC tool to wire the socket up, or just use a flat headed screw driver to gently push the wires into the terminals.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Don't use a screwdriver, get the 1 cheap IDC tool, it is fine for a limited use.

      But first pull out that wire on terminal 3, either that or cut it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION