Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Stats help

    This is a discussion on Stats help within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Also, o2 site says my line should be capable of 7mb while the sky one shows 4mb With a perfect ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Also, o2 site says my line should be capable of 7mb while the sky one shows 4mb
      With a perfect line you could get 7Mb, but your line is far from perfect. Sky are about right in their estimate with your present figures.

      If you get hold of an IDC tool, under a pound from B&Q, pull all of the wires off the terminals. They should lift upwards, not sideways. It is a bit difficult to tell what are your incoming wires, but it looks like they are the brown and white ones. Have a look at your extension, if the wires used there are blue/white/blue, that confirms it. When you have returned the incoming wires only, plug in the router and take the stats. You want to see an increase in your speed or noise margin.

      Don't, what ever you do, use a screw driver to put the wires back. There is a good chance you will spread the terminals and make them unusable. If you are really stuck, the best substitute for the proper tool is the edge of a credit card. Just place the wire across the terminals and push it firmly down. Do not bare the wire before doing this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With a perfect line you could get 7Mb, but your line is far from perfect. Sky are about right in their estimate with your present figures.

      If you get hold of an IDC tool, under a pound from B&Q, pull all of the wires off the terminals. They should lift upwards, not sideways. It is a bit difficult to tell what are your incoming wires, but it looks like they are the brown and white ones. Have a look at your extension, if the wires used there are blue/white/blue, that confirms it. When you have returned the incoming wires only, plug in the router and take the stats. You want to see an increase in your speed or noise margin.

      Don't, what ever you do, use a screw driver to put the wires back. There is a good chance you will spread the terminals and make them unusable. If you are really stuck, the best substitute for the proper tool is the edge of a credit card. Just place the wire across the terminals and push it firmly down. Do not bare the wire before doing this.
      Just getting a bit confused here, should I just pull the wire from terminal 3 (the brown one)? Thanks

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      The wire on terminal 3 should be an orange one. It can be removed or cut with no problem. Terminals 2 and 5 are the only ones actually carrying the signal.

      My suggestion was to temporary remove all the wires and replace only your incoming wires. This would tell you what the maximum is your line can support. If you get a good result it would then be worth fitting an NTE5a linebox with a filtered face plate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      harj's Avatar
      harj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stats help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The wire on terminal 3 should be an orange one. It can be removed or cut with no problem. Terminals 2 and 5 are the only ones actually carrying the signal.

      My suggestion was to temporary remove all the wires and replace only your incoming wires. This would tell you what the maximum is your line can support. If you get a good result it would then be worth fitting an NTE5a linebox with a filtered face plate.
      Ah ok, thanks for the clarification

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION