Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Dodgy Speeds?

    This is a discussion on Dodgy Speeds? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:26:25 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time WAN PPPoA 46504 54720 ...

    1. #1
      Fatal Legendz's Avatar
      Fatal Legendz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01189
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dodgy Speeds?

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:26:25

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 46504 54720 0 3380 20891 00:25:34
      LAN 100M/Full 23339 15040 0 18304 1736 00:26:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 31996 32180 0 2660 1828 00:26:07
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10235 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 2147483647 db

      These are my stats. I am on 16mb and have only been on for 8 days (still in testing period) Yesterday i was getting closer to 700up, however it seems to be halved. I live 0.56 miles from the exchange so should i be getting better?
      Last edited by Fatal Legendz; 25-02-09 at 11:35 PM. Reason: spelling error


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Dodgy Speeds?

      Until the DLM process has finished there is nothing to do, you need to wait until the line has stabilised and DKLM has set your levels.

      You doo seem to have noise on your line as you noise margin on the upstream has dropped to 0 which is why the router is showing that number.

      How are you connected to the socket? Internal line issues can cause this.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Dodgy Speeds?

      When DLM has run it's course you should be able to get 16Mb down and 764Kb up. As Smithy says check your internal connections. The easiest way to do this is to plug into the Test socket and check your stats from there. Link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Fatal Legendz's Avatar
      Fatal Legendz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01189
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dodgy Speeds?

      Thanks for the advice. I have my router in the test socket and it's still the same speed, although when should my speed be set after the 10 day testing period? also what should i do if things don't improve?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Dodgy Speeds?

      After the 10 days are up, if speeds don't improve, phone Sky and ask them to manually configure your line as DLM has left it at a low speed both up and down

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION