Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 50

    - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

    This is a discussion on - QuestionAble Speed - (?) within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; - Hi All - - i am Hoping to Get Some AdVice & Opinions on my Current DownLoad Speeds & ...

    1. #1
      ~ flipd ~'s Avatar
      ~ flipd ~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      - Hi All -

      - i am Hoping to Get Some AdVice & Opinions on my Current DownLoad Speeds & What Can be Done About them... - (?)

      - i am a - 'Sky BroadBand MAX' - SubScriber... - but Feel the Speeds i am Getting are too Low - EsPecially Having Now Seen What Some People Here Are Getting -

      - my Statistics are as Follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 265 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 13 db

      - these ReSults have Been ObTained from my - 'Router Status' - at - http://192.168.0.1 -

      - Comments Would be Gladly ReCeived -

      - thanks -

      D.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      Well if you have read other threads you know the drill, we need to know where the router is plugged in, how many sockets on the telephone, are all sockets filtered, have you got a test socket you can plug into for comparrison stats and are you using any extensions?

    4. #3
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      That seems extremely low given the stats shown.

      The same happened to me at Christmas with my previous ISP, it fixed itself after a week. Running 2 computers on 135kb reminded me of dialup

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      Yep they are low hence the questions to see if there is anything that may have triggered the drop in speed. If DLM has been active on the line and seen something it didn't like there is no point going to tier 1 till the underlying cause is resolved.

    6. #5
      ~ flipd ~'s Avatar
      ~ flipd ~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      - i'm Not Familiar wIth All the TermiNology - so Much of What's Been Said has AlReady Gone AboVe my Head - but thanks for Helping me... -

      - i'll Try & Give the Best InFormation i Can... -

      - What i Can Tell You is that i am Using a WireLess Connection - With the Router Connected to the Master Phone Socket - Through a MicRo Filter -

      - We Have an Additional Phone Line in the Kitchen - AGain Through a MicRo Filter - WhiCh Leads into the DiGi Box in the Kitchen -

      - We Have 2 Other CordLess Phones - One in the LiVing Room & One in a BedRoom -

      - We Have Sky+ HD in the LiVing Room... - Where the Router Connects - a Sky DiGi Box in the Kitchen - & Sky+ in One BedRoom - We Also Have a MultiRoom Connection for the Sky+ HD Box for AnOther BedRoom -

      - The Sound Quality of the Phone Line Seems to be Quite Poor to me... - though i Haven't Opportunity Really to ComPare -

      D.

    7. #6
      ~ flipd ~'s Avatar
      ~ flipd ~ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      - to add... - there hasn't been a Drop in Speed - it's AlWays Been this Way - though it's Only Now that i have BeCome Aware of the Speeds Being ReCorded by Others on the Same PackAge - & it Seems the Speeds i am Getting are ReLatively Low -

      D.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      Could you plug your router into the Test socket, link below and post your stats here?

      If you don't mind me saying so, please refrain from starting almost every word in your posts with a CAP, it is unnecessary and makes your post very difficult to read.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      Also please check that anything connecting onto any socket on the telephone line is doing so via a filter (small white box that normally has the words ADSL, telephone and modem on them).

    10. #9
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      Quote Originally Posted by ~ flipd ~ View Post

      - my Statistics are as Follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 265 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 13 db

      D.
      To me tho bolded Text would indicate an incorrect setup.
      Possibly an unfiltered socket thats in use.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: - QuestionAble Speed - (?)

      There is definitely a noise problem, the Test socket will tell us where.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION