Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    confused and looking for advice

    This is a discussion on confused and looking for advice within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; done some more digging about to see where wires went etc and i came across a box which i dont ...

    1. #11
      duncansau80's Avatar
      duncansau80 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Cumbernauld
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: confused and looking for advice

      done some more digging about to see where wires went etc and i came across a box which i dont have a lcue what its purpose is for. Only 2 of the 4 wires seem to be connected to it. This is connected directly to the master socket and stops there.






      The other wire coming out of the master socket is the extension socket for upstairs. There is a whole lot of wires curled up inside my master socket, do you think this bad wiring could be issue with my speeds.




      checked under carpet where the wire leads to unknown box to find:



      is it worth rewiring from master socket to this box to replace that cracked and split wiring.

      I also noticed that previous owners of house had cable phone lines and another wire is attached to extension socket upstairs from the input box of the cable. Would the additional wiring from the cable phone line cause problems?

      cheers again

      Duncan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: confused and looking for advice

      You've had the best advice (filter faceplate) so as long as your existing wiring works for your phones leave well alone. The small box you have found is the junction where your incomming line connects on it's way to the master socket.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: confused and looking for advice

      As Brian says, leave well alone until you get a faceplate. I must admit that if it was me, I would consider replacing the junction box with a NTE5 box and replace your existing Master with a standard extension socket. Put a filter plate on the new NTE5 and run the router from there. But then, that is me, it would be against BT's regulations of course.

      It will be worthwhile having a close look at the split cable, it looks like someone has been over zealous with a Stanley knife. If the insulation around the wires has been cut as well as the sheathing, it may be worth replacing it. If not a bit of insulation tape will fix it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: confused and looking for advice

      can you just leave the router plugged into the test socket permanantly? i ve got a microfilter into test socket, router and sky plus cable into filter and the faceplate into the back of sky plus plug is this ok to leave permanantly? cheers for any reply because i havent got a clue

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: confused and looking for advice

      I am not quite following you, do you mean when the faceplate is off, it is still 'live'? Does your extension still work?

      There is nothing to stop you using the test socket permanently, but it should mean your faceplate and any extension connected to it are dead. If they are not something is wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION