Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    speed dangerously LOW

    This is a discussion on speed dangerously LOW within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Last Result: Download Speed: 2813 kbps (351.6 KB/sec transfer rate) Upload Speed: 626 kbps (78.3 KB/sec transfer rate) This test ...

    1. #1
      wutang's Avatar
      wutang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme Manchester
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speed dangerously LOW

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 2813 kbps (351.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 626 kbps (78.3 KB/sec transfer rate)

      This test requires JavaScript to be enabled, version 7+ of Flash Player and any software firewalls (such as Zone Alarm) to be disabled
      All test results are logged including your IP address, user-agent and operating system.
      2006 Namesco Limited.

      Im on the Sky BB MAX package definatly shouldnt be getting these low speeds.
      Pls help me out guys and advise on what i should do pls. Thanks in advance.
      Last edited by wutang; 24-09-06 at 06:30 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site wutang

      For anyone to answer that question you will need to post the stats from your router.

      If you are not sure how to do this login clicking on this link

      http://192.168.0.1 A little box will pop-up
      the default username/password is admin/sky
      then you will be on the Router Status page look at the bottom and you will see a button Show Statistics click on that and a pop-up window will give you all the info you need.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      wutang's Avatar
      wutang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme Manchester
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok thx alot for the help mate. Here's what you suggested i do:

      System Up Time 02:02:46
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 336 410 0 413 1926 00:03:06
      LAN 10M/100M 15999 12081 0 2450 445 02:02:44
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 15197 11015 0 2437 134 02:02:34

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14268 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 13.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 14.0 db

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Your noise margin is quite low - i'd do a reboot and try it again

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep I agree great stats except for the NM and if the reboot doesn't work (to reboot go into the router admin and click on Diagnostics
      where you will find a button) then make sure all the phone points that have anything connected to them have a filter on them.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      wutang's Avatar
      wutang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme Manchester
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just rebooted lads and this is what i got:
      System Up Time 00:00:56
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN 10M/100M 83 58 0 564 168 00:00:54
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:44

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14112 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 13.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 12.5 db

      BTW every socket in the house has a filter in it!

    8. #7
      wutang's Avatar
      wutang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme Manchester
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      since i first posted i tried that TCP speed thingy in the sticky and results after that were:

      Last Result:
      Download Speed: 11481 kbps (1435.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 637 kbps (79.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

      Amazing little tool.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep it can be very helpfull

      Great speeds now
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION