Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

    This is a discussion on Sky MAX 8.7 meg?? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have run speed tests and they all seem to top around 8-8.5 meg. Am i right in understanding that ...

    1. #1
      Meesh's Avatar
      Meesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01707
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

      I have run speed tests and they all seem to top around 8-8.5 meg. Am i right in understanding that this should be neared 16meg??

      my stats are

      Connection speed 9109 down 764 up

      line attenuation 30db down 15 up

      noise margin 7db down 4db up

      As far as i can tell there are good? could any one shed some light on this for me please


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

      Are these stats taken from the test socket? Also are you hard wired or wireless and and are you using any extensions?
      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

      it's near 16Mbps if you're close enough to your exchange...what you've got at this moment is best for your current setup so as said, try the test socket and repost stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Meesh's Avatar
      Meesh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01707
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

      The house is old and there is no test socket, just a box with the incomeing line and then a wire to the first socket. Now I have disconnected the house line and punched a short cable to the modem directly to the incomeing line (kroning tool?) and that result is the one above, it's the same in the standard other points. The telephone wiring in the house is new and run seperate from power and data, I installed it but no master. Should I have a higher connection speed?

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX 8.7 meg??

      This thread explains line att, sync etc.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html
      Your line att would suggest you should expect around 16 meg so something is amiss.
      Have you recently joined sky, if so you will be under the dlm process and if you have line problems that will be why your sync has been reduced.
      Although your nm does not seem particularly high, hard to tell with the V2 routers.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION