Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Slow speeds.

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi can anyone tell me what is an average speed on upload &/or download. My upload speed varies between 210 ...

    1. #1
      davidgeman's Avatar
      davidgeman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds.

      Hi can anyone tell me what is an average speed on upload &/or download. My upload speed varies between 210 kbps & 344kbps. My download is between 220 kbps& 264 kbps. I have had to go back to an ethernet cable as the "wireless" was about 1/2 that. I am on the "free-rate" because I have other things from Sky & I think that price is too much. When I was with virgin the speed was much higher. & when I was with AOL the speed was nonexistent. I am using the sky supplied white router. I am constantly losing connection (10 or more times a day). It freezes everytime I try to do more then a couple of things ata time. I am using a very short extension cable from the only telephone box I got. ( the box is near the front door & anything connected gets squashed by the door opening). Whats a test socket. I have tried to read your other replies but most of it is going over my head. I installed the Mossywells BSR thingy. Everytime I go to it Im told Im not connected to the Internet?????????. I have had Hijackthis logs read & they say there is no problems with the computer. Any ideas guys. In english of a type an idiot can understand please. ta


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      If you post the router stats we can help more ,
      The fact you were not able to get good speed with aol could be due to you being far from the exchange but give the router stats and we can have a look .

    4. #3
      davidgeman's Avatar
      davidgeman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      Hi Thanks for looking.
      System Up Time 263:56:36
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 245 256 0 257 941 00:03:29
      LAN 10M/100M 2494373 1767565 0 2970 339 263:56:32
      WLAN 11M/54M 355444 243999 0 396 44 263:56:23


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 288 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 19.5 db 13.0 db

      Also I notice on the site I used to check these that Im down as being "wireless". I went back to wired as the wireless speed was only about 1/2 this speed Im getting now. Will/would that make any difference.

    5. #4
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      Quote Originally Posted by davidgeman View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 288 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 19.5 db 13.0 db
      With Attenuation & Noise like that the speed is ok ,
      How ever this could be a wiring issue in the house to you will need to plug in to the test socket and check the stats again ,

      With your Attenuation i would say you are a good bit away from the eachange ,
      And with the Noise margins i would check for any statis on the line ,

      You said you had Aol before why not plug that router in to the test socket with the other cables and filters and check the router stats also ,

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      Were you with VM on their cable or on their adsl service as they are two very different things, the AOL speed is more likely to be comaparable to your Sky speed as both should be ADSL based. Also, even a short extension lead is capable of causing issue on the connection.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      It looks to me like you are either stuck on a test speed (288) or you are being capped, With that noise margin, quite a bit. You should be able to get 2Mb with these stats.

      Can you plug your router into the test socket and get the stats again? This should rule out any internal wiring problems, from then on assuming the DLM training period has finished you can ring Sky and get DLM suspended or at the very least the cap raised.

      To get to the test socket you need to remove the front face of the master socket, this will reveal the test socket beneath, plug in there and get the stats, you don't have to leave it there it;s just to get a comparison.
      Last edited by Smithy99; 11-12-08 at 04:43 PM.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      not test speed per say, more likely auto-regrade but yeah - heavily capped so a call CST is in order to get it removed...if you're on Base as your profile suggests you'll have 2Mbps back easily...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      If you only have one phone socket, plugging into the test socket is unlikely to make much difference, if any. When you phone Sky, tell them you are in the test socket anyway, to avoid a call back.

      Rather than using a telephone extension you would be better buying a good quality longer RJ11 cable and plugging this into your master socket through a filter. It is not worth using an ADSL faceplate if you do not have hardwired extensions.

      You can get a good quality cable from Amazon for about 10-11 or have a look in your local PCWorld as they stock Belkin cables.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      davidgeman's Avatar
      davidgeman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      Hi thanks to all you guys. I have managed to connect my router directly to my phone socket. (after having to drill through the wall & come in from the back) & my Down load speed is between an amazing 1760 & an astonishing 2048 kbps. Upload has reached a quite impressive 480 kbps. This I CAN live with. I am still prone to freezing if any of you wonderful people can help with that I will be eternally grateful.
      davidgeman. ta again.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds.

      Post your stats again and let's have a look

      Order a filtered faceplate and do it properly, that may give you even better speeds and stop the dropouts.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION