Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    New User here... strange numbers

    This is a discussion on New User here... strange numbers within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, got switched over to Sky today. On my old ADSL1 service, I used to get Attenuation of 22dB, and ...

    1. #1
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      New User here... strange numbers

      Well, got switched over to Sky today.

      On my old ADSL1 service, I used to get Attenuation of 22dB, and now it's 33dB... should this have changed?

      I sync'ed at 14596 to begin with, but the Sagem router dropped it's connection a few times, and then decided to drop the sync rate with it. Great.

      I've since replaced it with a *proper* router and would like to know if there is any "training" period, or anything I can do to get those sync rates back up?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      There is a ten day training period for all new customers, it's prob not a good idea to use your own router while this is going on, or you may end up with poor results.

    4. #3
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      Hmm while I appreciate that, I do think a Cisco 877 would be a far better router than the one supplied by Sky.

      The Sagem one was in fact, useless.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      Well use your own router if you like, but you run the risk that DLM may bugger up your line during the first 10 days. My Sagem is fine, 16 meg rock solid, what was the prob with yours and have you read the cable and faceplate section.

    6. #5
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      My Sagem was at 14500, then after using it with 2 PC's on the go, it dropped the connection twice, and then dropped the sync to 12000.

      What is in the cable and faceplate that I need to worry about? I have a Master socket (where the router is connected to) and one extension (wired properly I will add)

      The wiring in the house has not changed in 6 years and ADSL1 SYNC'ed at 8128 permanently before going to LLU.

      So, DLM will be in effect for the first 10 days on my line?

      What about after the 10 days? Will it run again afterwards?

      Why is the attenuation 11dB extra? Does DLM interfere with this figure at all?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      Noise Margin: 0.0 dB
      Output Power: 20.5 dBm
      Attenuation: 33.0 dB

      And: -

      Interface ATM0:
      AAL enabled: AAL5 AAL2, Maximum VCs: 10, Current VCCs: 1

      VCIs per VPI: 1024,
      Max. Datagram Size: 4528
      PLIM Type: ADSL - 764Kbps Upstream, DMT, TX clocking: LINE
      4195 input, 419 output, 3574070 IN fast, 2011757 OUT fast
      Avail bw = 764
      Config. is ACTIVE

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      (1) attenuation given by the router depends on how it's firmware measures it. As it varies with frequency, routers diaplay all sorts of figures.

      (2) ADSL2+ is very fussy about wiring, to get the best that your line can provide it is vital that your internal wiring is as good as it can be.

      (3) Yes DLM will run on your line all the time, the first 10 days is used to monitor line conditions, and I assume see how the line performs

    9. #8
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      OK thanks for the advice Brian.

      Will look into one of those faceplates (I did read about them before - they isolate the rest of the house wiring?)

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      Yes a filter faceplate does isolate any internal wiring you may have, and provides an output for the router and a phone

    11. #10
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New User here... strange numbers

      OK so i've bought a faceplate, and we're on Day 11 (Activated on 1st December). The speed went down to a paltry 7Mb the other day, but since has come back up to: -



      Stats from the Router

      ATU-R (DS) ATU-C (US)
      Modem Status: Showtime (DMTDSL_SHOWTIME)
      DSL Mode: ITU G.992.5 (ADSL2+) Annex A
      ITU STD NUM: 0x03 0x2
      Chip Vendor ID: 'STMI' 'GSPN'
      Chip Vendor Specific: 0x0000 0x0010
      Chip Vendor Country: 0x0F 0xFF
      Modem Vendor ID: 'CSCO' 'GSPN'
      Modem Vendor Specific: 0x0000 0x1000
      Modem Vendor Country: 0xB5 0xFF
      Serial Number Near: FCZ114790SN
      Serial Number Far:
      Modem Version Near: 12.4(4)T8
      Modem Version Far:
      Capacity Used: 63% 100%
      Noise Margin: 18.0 dB 13.0 dB
      Output Power: 20.5 dBm 12.5 dBm
      Attenuation: 33.0 dB 12.0 dB

      Interface ATM0:
      AAL enabled: AAL5 AAL2, Maximum VCs: 10, Current VCCs: 1

      VCIs per VPI: 1024,
      Max. Datagram Size: 4528
      PLIM Type: ADSL - 796Kbps Upstream, DMT, TX clocking: LINE
      66640 input, 6534 output, 613582 IN fast, 344817 OUT fast
      Avail bw = 796
      Config. is ACTIVE

      I still believe that DSL Mode is wrong.

      How can I go about getting sky to put me back on a 11/12Mbit profile like I had to start with?

      The speed was fantastic, but since they've changed the mode to Annex A (I'm defiant that this is incorrect), the speed has been screwed.

      Not sure what my Sync rate is, as it appears to be impossible to get it out of this Cisco 877.

      Think I'm going to have to connect the Sagem to the line just to get the Sync rate out of it.

      I'm pretty sure 12500 and 14500 sync rates are possible, however.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION