Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    struggling with sky connect

    This is a discussion on struggling with sky connect within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone, I'm really having issues with my sky connect package. i have tested all sockets around the house including ...

    1. #1
      richtbc04's Avatar
      richtbc04 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01248
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      struggling with sky connect



      Hi everyone,

      I'm really having issues with my sky connect package. i have tested all sockets around the house including the test socket, but am getting terrible speeds (see above)

      here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 27 db


      I have been connected for about 8 weeks now, the speed just seems to be getting worse and worse.. i cant even watch iplayer!

      Can anyone help at all?

      Thanks
      Last edited by richtbc04; 04-11-08 at 03:44 PM. Reason: missed info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      Go to BT Performance Tester enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the LAN MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      You should be able to use this report when phone Sky, but it will depend on who takes your call as Sky TS do not seem to be trained for Connect customers. This tester is always busy, it could take several attempts to get on.

      If you are not using Vista you could try downloading and running TCPOptimiser, link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      Quote Originally Posted by richtbc04 View Post
      the speed just seems to be getting worse and worse.
      Your router stats are excellent but your speedtest result (throughput) is appalling, even for Connect.

      Are you wireless?

    5. #4
      richtbc04's Avatar
      richtbc04 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01248
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Go to BT Performance Tester enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the LAN MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      You should be able to use this report when phone Sky, but it will depend on who takes your call as Sky TS do not seem to be trained for Connect customers. This tester is always busy, it could take several attempts to get on.

      If you are not using Vista you could try downloading and running TCPOptimiser, link below.



      Ok I've done that here are my results:


      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      Your DSL connection rate: 8128 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 4000 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 186 kbps

      I am using a mac with leopard so any info specific would be great.

      cheers

    6. #5
      richtbc04's Avatar
      richtbc04 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01248
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Your router stats are excellent but your speedtest result (throughput) is appalling, even for Connect.

      Are you wireless?
      no that result was taken through an eth cable. obviously my wireless are worse!

      Rich

    7. #6
      richtbc04's Avatar
      richtbc04 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01248
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      I have just spoken to sky customer services and they appeared to be helpful.. think i was directed to a senior technical team.. they ran tests and phoned me back and now said it will take about 48 hours to change the configuration. does this sound about right?

      Thanks,
      Rich

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: struggling with sky connect

      Quote Originally Posted by richtbc04 View Post
      no that result was taken through an eth cable.

      Hmm - that's odd.

      Your sync is excellent, your profile (4000) is a little low - should be 7000 or 7150 with that sync. Even so, a profile of 4000 should give you a throughput of ~3250kbps.

      As you've ruled out wireless as the problem that leaves:
      • malware (unlikely as you're mac)
      • wireless hijack (is your wireless secure?)
      • someone else on the LAN
      • some other bandwidth using app e.g. SkyPlayer or BBCplayer (are they mac compatible?)
      • router fault (unlikely but possible)
      • incorrect TCP/IP settings (can't help you with a mac - look for an alternative to TCPOptimizer)
      • adapter fault (maybe try updating your network card driver)
      • an exchange equipment problem
      • a Connect profile problem (not evident from the tests you've run)
      • severe congestion at your exchange (use Samknows and see if there is a problem there)


      HTH

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION