Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Tcp optimizer

    This is a discussion on Tcp optimizer within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I running Vista and i have tried the optimizer but when i click on apply changes i get an error ...

    1. #1
      clarkie34's Avatar
      clarkie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tcp optimizer

      I running Vista and i have tried the optimizer but when i click on apply changes i get an error message.

      Is there anything for speeding my connection up that works with vista?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      the optimizer works for me on Vista.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Quote Originally Posted by clarkie34 View Post
      I running Vista and i have tried the optimizer
      It won't usually run properly on Vista and may cause problems. In any case, you shouldn't need it with Vista.

      What problems are you trying to correct (the more info the better)?

    5. #4
      clarkie34's Avatar
      clarkie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Trying to improve my download rates

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Yep - that's all the info I could possibly need

      All right - how about if I spell it out:

      • what are your router stats (attenuation, noise margin, sync)?
      • what are your speedtest results?
      • what speedtest servers have you tried?
      • are you wired or wireless?
      • if wireless what do you get wired?


      TCPOptimizer can only remove any bottleneck between your PC and the router - if it exists - and that's not likely in Vista. It doesn't do anything to the connection between your router and the exchange i.e. your internet connection.

    7. #6
      clarkie34's Avatar
      clarkie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Sorry here is some more info downstream 2976 up 416
      attenuation 44db up 28db
      noise margin 16.1 db up 14db

      Also i am wired.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Well for a start your connection is heavily capped and TCPo isn't going to help you there. A sync of 2976kbps should give a speedtest result of ~2400kbps.

      Presumably you've had connection problems in the past and that's why Sky have capped you? You need to sort them out and then get uncapped. If successful you should easily see a trebling of speed, maybe more.

    9. #8
      clarkie34's Avatar
      clarkie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      What would the reason be for them to cap my connection?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      Don't take offence but you only appear to be reading half of every response I've made and offer no information back in return.

    11. #10
      clarkie34's Avatar
      clarkie34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tcp optimizer

      No offence taken but i cant remember having any connection problems in the past.

      I have just looked in on this forum and found that i could possibly get a better download speed.

      Not being a computer wizz i find it hard to understand some of the jargon and how to go about solving simple things which in many cases with pc's take forever to solve.

      So if i have my connection capped do i phone sky and ask why?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION