Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help with Speed

    This is a discussion on Help with Speed within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am on the Max or so I believe? we pay 10 pounds per month,my connection is 1.1mb's which ...

    1. #1
      BenDexter's Avatar
      BenDexter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help with Speed

      Hi,


      I am on the Max or so I believe? we pay 10 pounds per month,my connection is 1.1mb's which I think is all my line will support...I have never been able to download over 180kb using usenet...however on a speed test it downloads at around 500kbs.

      I am connected via ethernet cable to my router,I am using Windows XP.

      Here is my speed test result...



      Regards,Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      BenDexter's Avatar
      BenDexter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      I just did a reverse trace route on giga news website... and this is the result...


      news.giganews.com

      1 216.196.98.6 (216.196.98.6) 1 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      2 213.248.98.253 (213.248.98.253) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      3 ldn-bb2-pos6-0-0.telia.net (213.248.65.209) 75 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.65.97) 75 ms ldn-bb2-pos6-0-0.telia.net (213.248.65.209) 75 ms
      4 ldn-b4-link.telia.net (80.91.254.22) 75 ms ldn-b4-link.telia.net (80.91.249.78) 75 ms ldn-b4-link.telia.net (80.91.254.22) 89 ms
      5 ip-89-200-132-122.ov.easynet.net (89.200.132.122) 74 ms 74 ms 75 ms
      6 ip-89-200-132-174.ov.easynet.net (89.200.132.174) 78 ms 79 ms 81 ms
      7 cr0.slef.uk.easynet.net (195.189.159.67) 86 ms 80 ms 80 ms
      8 * * *
      9 * * *
      10 * * *
      Max number of unresponsive hops reached (firewall or filter?)
      news-europe.giganews.com

      1 216-196-110-3.ams.giganews.com (216.196.110.3) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      2 216-196-108-134.ams.giganews.com (216.196.108.134) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      3 gb-2-0-0.amsix1.tcams.nl.easynet.net (195.69.144.38) 0 ms gb-10-0-0.saams.nl.easynet.net (195.69.144.137) 0 ms gb-2-0-0.amsix1.tcams.nl.easynet.net (195.69.144.38) 0 ms
      4 te5-0-0.gr10.thlon.uk.easynet.net (87.86.77.20) 8 ms te5-0-0.gr11.thlon.uk.easynet.net (87.86.77.28) 9 ms te5-0-0.gr10.thlon.uk.easynet.net (87.86.77.20) 9 ms
      5 ip-89-200-135-19.ov.easynet.net (89.200.135.19) 10 ms 9 ms 12 ms
      6 ip-89-200-132-174.ov.easynet.net (89.200.132.174) 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms
      7 cr0.slef.uk.easynet.net (195.189.159.67) 20 ms 15 ms 15 ms
      8 * * *
      9 * * *
      10 * * *
      Max number of unresponsive hops reached (firewall or filter?)




      it sugests I have a firewall or filter blocking something? any ideas what this may be? i dissabled my firewall,(XP firewall still on) so I don't think it's that,what else could it be?

      Thanks

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      Some stops don't allow ping requests, it's not your firewall stopping them it's theirs. Ignore them it means nothing.

      You should also use the Giganews europe server as it runs a little better as it is closer. news-europe.giganews.com

      Post your router stats and let's see if you are getting the best you can.

    5. #4
      BenDexter's Avatar
      BenDexter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      Hi,


      Thanks,I have tried both servers,and another usenet service and I can't get over 60k for some reason,I used to get 180k average?

      how do I post my router stats?

      Regards,

    6. #5
      BenDexter's Avatar
      BenDexter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      some help please...

    7. #6
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      You need to log into your router, by using:

      http://192.168.0.1

      username: admin
      password: sky

      At the bottom you should see 'show statistics'

      Just copy and paste them in this thread so we can take a look.

    8. #7
      BenDexter's Avatar
      BenDexter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      OK thanks....


      is this the right info?


      System Up Time 24:56:34
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3667293 5081924 0 2109 35205 24:55:54
      LAN 10M/100M 5074461 3745650 0 34305 3253 24:56:30
      WLAN 11M/54M 153225 90619 0 2223 106 24:56:21

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 db 33.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 16.0 db

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with Speed

      You are connecting at the maximum rate your line will allow in its present state. You need to now plug into the Test socket, take your stats again and post them here.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION