Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36

    Should I worry yet?..

    This is a discussion on Should I worry yet?.. within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I didn't suspect anything though as my connection was always okay with BT and the set-up is exactly the same ...

    1. #21
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      I didn't suspect anything though as my connection was always okay with BT and the set-up is exactly the same whilst I was with BT.
      Great news, its just a shame that you have had slower speeds, because of the splitter whilst you were on BT. I bet you would have got similar to what you have now.

      I used to get about 6mb with F2S (a BT based product) and averages between 6 and 7.5mb now on Sky.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Tetse's Avatar
      Tetse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EACVI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Hi Chaps,
      Is there any maintenance work going on at Sky that would cause speeds to crash. My 8mb normally runs at 7mb, never below 6, but (when I can get a speedteaster to work) today I'm getting 32kbs!!!
      No idea if it's my setup (rebooted router to no avail) or the whole system.
      HELLLPP!!
      Just got a stunning 144kbs on a retest!

    4. #23
      Some_Bl0ke's Avatar
      Some_Bl0ke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Yeah it is ashame I guess - hindsights a great thing and all that!

      To be honest I wasn't even expecting my speed to exceed 3000kbps so I'm quite happy now, seeing as I've never had a connection speed over that. My ping still seems a little high. Not sure why it's different but I'll have to live with it I guess.

      I left BT because I had an old contract with a download limit which was expensive compared to todays offers. They said they were going to send me a new router and give me an improved package for being a faithful customer ages ago, and this never happened until I asked for my MAC code. Weird that.

      Thanks again!

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Use the Kana form and ask Sky to lower your Max_delays, this will improve the ping time on gaming.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...ly-2008-a.html
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #25
      Some_Bl0ke's Avatar
      Some_Bl0ke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Ooh, okay, thanks! I never knew you could get them to tinker with your connection.

      Why aren't they lowered in the first place? And will they have any effect on my connection apart from lowering the ping?

      Sorry for silly questions, but thought I may as well try and educate myself about these things whilst here! (I've been reading other threads as well trying to learn a few things).

    7. #26
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Quote Originally Posted by Tetse View Post
      Hi Chaps,
      Is there any maintenance work going on at Sky that would cause speeds to crash. My 8mb normally runs at 7mb, never below 6, but (when I can get a speedteaster to work) today I'm getting 32kbs!!!
      No idea if it's my setup (rebooted router to no avail) or the whole system.
      HELLLPP!!
      Just got a stunning 144kbs on a retest!
      Sorry - only just spotted this. No details have appeared on here. Possibly weather related. Try a switch off for ten minutes and then back on?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #27
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Quote Originally Posted by Some_Bl0ke View Post
      Ooh, okay, thanks! I never knew you could get them to tinker with your connection.
      Sometimes they can

      Why aren't they lowered in the first place? And will they have any effect on my connection apart from lowering the ping?
      Sky have their network setup to deliver VOD / VOIP etc therefore the higher the delays, the supposedly the better delivery mechanism. However this breaks it for gamers.

      Sorry for silly questions, but thought I may as well try and educate myself about these things whilst here! (I've been reading other threads as well trying to learn a few things).
      No worries, that's what we are here for
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #28
      Some_Bl0ke's Avatar
      Some_Bl0ke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Hmm. I filled out the Kana form requesting for my Max_delays to be lowered for gaming. I think I should have fitted that improved faceplate first so I was getting a (hopefully) improved connection speed before Sky adjusted it.

      There is a download difference of 2000 kbps (3500/5500) between using the current faceplate socket and the test socket. Hopefully that improved faceplate would improve this difference.

      From what I have read, it seems Sky will cap your connection slightly if it's pretty slow (like mine in the faceplate) to keep it stable, whereas if you have a better download speed, lowering the Max_delays can actually improve your speeds.

      I'm now not sure whether to order the improved faceplate and hope I receive it before Sky have examined my connection and possibly lowered my Max_delays! I've got a feeling if they see a reading of 3500 kbps, they'll cap it to 3000 to keep it stable, as they done that to someone else in another thread I read.

      I think I'll just order the faceplate anyway and hope they don't touch my connection until I've fitted it. It's not that expensive anyway and even if it doesn't work out it looks a bit prettier than the current faceplate.

    10. #29
      Some_Bl0ke's Avatar
      Some_Bl0ke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      I have a couple more quick questions (sorry!):

      How long is it okay to use the test socket for?

      Do you think I will get much nearer the speeds of my test socket by installing the improved quality faceplate? (Bearing in mind there is now a difference of 2000 kbps between the faceplate and test socket).

      I'm not sure as whether to leave the router in the test socket over the next few days, so if Sky do lower my Max-delays, they will see the better connection speed and hopefully not cap it, then HOPE, that the new faceplate will give me speeds a lot nearer to the test socket speeds.

      Obviously I would rather have a slightly slower stable connection rather than a faster unstable one; but I would rather have a faster stable connection of course - gotta get your moneys worth etc!

      Any suggestion as what to do welcome as always!

      I'll probably order the faceplate anyway and hope it comes by mid-week and just hope Sky don't play with my connection 'til then!

    11. #30
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Should I worry yet?..

      Quote Originally Posted by Some_Bl0ke View Post
      I have a couple more quick questions (sorry!):

      How long is it okay to use the test socket for?
      forever (although obviously any extensions wont work!)

      Quote Originally Posted by Some_Bl0ke View Post
      Do you think I will get much nearer the speeds of my test socket by installing the improved quality faceplate? (Bearing in mind there is now a difference of 2000 kbps between the faceplate and test socket).
      The filtered faceplate should provide the same as the test socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Some_Bl0ke View Post
      I'm not sure as whether to leave the router in the test socket over the next few days, so if Sky do lower my Max-delays, they will see the better connection speed and hopefully not cap it, then HOPE, that the new faceplate will give me speeds a lot nearer to the test socket speeds.
      Leave it in the test socket!!!!!!!!!!

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION