Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Connect 8mb - New conection

    This is a discussion on Connect 8mb - New conection within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My speed test reveals: Download: 1432 kbps Upload: 353 kbps This seems slow for an 8mb connection? Am I correct ...

    1. #1
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connect 8mb - New conection

      My speed test reveals:
      Download: 1432 kbps
      Upload: 353 kbps

      This seems slow for an 8mb connection? Am I correct and can I do anything to improve?

      Thanks
      Colin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Please remember that it is an upto 8Mb service, the speed you receive is based on a number of things, line lengh and noise being a couple.

      If you post your router stats people may be able to help increase your speed if there is a problem.
      Last edited by Saturday; 20-08-08 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceding post

    4. #3
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Does this help? What does it show please?
      Thanks
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 113:07:09
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 76 59 0 551 820 00:00:21
      LAN 100M/Full 21599 0 0 9 0 113:07:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 381675 336716 0 805 264 113:06:51
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6528 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 21 db

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Your router is synched at around 6Mb ish. Looks like a throughput issue somewhere though, are you on ethernet and also are you running the router from the main socket on your line?

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Quote Originally Posted by Skipper View Post
      Does this help? What does it show please?
      Thanks
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 113:07:09
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 76 59 0 551 820 00:00:21
      LAN 100M/Full 21599 0 0 9 0 113:07:05
      WLAN 11M/54M 381675 336716 0 805 264 113:06:51
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6528 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 21 db
      With those stats you should easily sync at the full 8Mb You wold get 14-16Mb on max.

      Your sync speed is higher than you say your downloads are although many things can affect you download speeds, if using P2P then a lot will depend on the amount of people sharing.

      How are you connecting the router to the phone line?

      Can you put the router into the test socket (this is the socket behind the faceplate of the master socket which should be the first socket in the house coming from the main BT cable) not everyone has one of these but it's worth a look then do the stats again.

      Make sure that ALL sockets in the house have filters on them, this includes the one connected to the Sky box (if you have one)

    7. #6
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      I am new to all this router stuff, but I am running wireless and the router is connected to the telephone via an standard connection wire to the socket.

      I have Sky TV in two rooms so I'll check the filters. I know the lounge has a filter but it will be a BT rather than Sky one. Does this make a difference? The upstairs Sky box (multi-room) was only commissioned on Saturday and I do not know if the Sky engineer installed a filter. I will check.

      How do I know if the BT socket is the "main" socket?

      Thanks for the help.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      The easiest way to find out is to follow the cable coming into the house, the first box it comes to should be the master.

      Hopefully you will have a front face that you can remove to reveal the test socket beneith.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Check the 2nd Sky box, probably not filtered if our calls are anything to go by lol

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      How long have you been connected. Connect has a 10 day training period, during which time the speed will fluctuate until it finds stability. Looking at your present connection speed and noise margin, you will get the full 8 MB without any difficulty. During the training period you should reboot your router every evening, prefeably by powering it off for a minute then back on. This ensures that it is resyncing with the exchange. You can find out more about managing your connection by reading this from Plusnet, who use the same package with a different name- you will get no guidance in this from Sky.
      Broadband - Help & Support

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      I have been connected less than a week but have not been rebooting my router, I will do that his evening.

      All socket have filters on. One is BT rather than Sky supplied but I do not see that making a difference?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION