Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Connect 8mb - New conection

    This is a discussion on Connect 8mb - New conection within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Shouldn't make a difference unless the age of the filter means that the filter has degraded....

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Shouldn't make a difference unless the age of the filter means that the filter has degraded.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Things are improving:

      22 August, 2008 07:27:13 4320 Kbs 351 Kbs
      21 August, 2008 08:28:05 4960 Kbs 340 Kbs
      19 August, 2008 04:25:38 1432 Kbs 353 Kbs
      19 August, 2008 04:15:15 1424 Kbs 354 Kbs

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      You should eventually get up to full speed.

      Please change the package type in your Profile from Base to Connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You should eventually get up to full speed.

      Please change the package type in your Profile from Base to Connect.
      Oops!! Will do.

    6. #15
      Skipper's Avatar
      Skipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Norfolk
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      Things got better and are now are deteriorating:

      01 September, 2008 05:58:46 3272 Kbs 354 Kbs
      01 September, 2008 07:57:36 3328 Kbs 356 Kbs
      01 September, 2008 07:39:13 3360 Kbs 351 Kbs
      01 September, 2008 07:38:23 3288 Kbs 352 Kbs
      29 August, 2008 07:41:08 5136 Kbs 354 Kbs
      28 August, 2008 07:20:28 5128 Kbs 351 Kbs
      27 August, 2008 07:51:40 5232 Kbs 353 Kbs
      27 August, 2008 07:51:04 4624 Kbs 352 Kbs
      26 August, 2008 06:07:41 5232 Kbs 285 Kbs
      26 August, 2008 08:10:53 5112 Kbs 352 Kbs

      I am transferring my phone and line rental to Sky. Will this have an impact?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Connect 8mb - New conection

      It should not, but most would recommend keeping your rental with BT for the time being. Only BT do work on lines to my knowledge, so if something does go wrong with your line, it is an extra tier to go throough before you get action. Maybe someone who has changed their rental and has had line problems would like to comment.

      It does look like your line is deteriorating, you should really be getting close to the 8Mb maximum. Have you managed to connect direct to your Test socket yet? This will give an indication of where the problem lies.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION