Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    advice on connection speed needed

    This is a discussion on advice on connection speed needed within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi I've recently had my line changed due to an ongoing fault on my phone line. I was originally connecting ...

    1. #1
      richypat07's Avatar
      richypat07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      advice on connection speed needed

      hi
      I've recently had my line changed due to an ongoing fault on my phone line.

      I was originally connecting through my router at 3000 kbps and after line change now connect at 8096 kbps. when using speed checks and downloading etc should i see a difference? as all speed checks/downloads i've done don't seem to be any quicker.

      My new stats are (since upgrading firmware) ...
      System Up Time 00:34:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3 8 0 10 16 00:00:18
      LAN 10M/100M 784 0 0 97 0 00:34:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 38227 19362 0 23917 2459 00:34:29


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.6 db 14.0 db

      all speed checks seem to be around 3500kbps is this correct?
      I'm running vista and connecting via wireless adapter on usb 2.0 (router in same room) router connected via test socket with x1 filter and no extensions.

      any help advice welcome


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      Quote Originally Posted by richypat07 View Post
      hi
      I've recently had my line changed due to an ongoing fault on my phone line.

      I was originally connecting through my router at 3000 kbps and after line change now connect at 8096 kbps. when using speed checks and downloading etc should i see a difference? as all speed checks/downloads i've done don't seem to be any quicker.

      My new stats are (since upgrading firmware) ...
      System Up Time 00:34:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3 8 0 10 16 00:00:18
      LAN 10M/100M 784 0 0 97 0 00:34:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 38227 19362 0 23917 2459 00:34:29

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.6 db 14.0 db

      all speed checks seem to be around 3500kbps is this correct?
      I'm running vista and connecting via wireless adapter on usb 2.0 (router in same room) router connected via test socket with x1 filter and no extensions.

      any help advice welcome

      If the router is in the same room I would advise connecting via ethernet, much more stable and less subject to interference.

      Speedtest sites are not the mose reliable way to test download speed Try a large download from the likes of Microsoft, that should give you a better idea

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      If you are on max, you could phone Sky and ask them to increase your speed as a faulty phone line has been fixed. They may put you on ADSL2+. This may give you another couple of megabits, but maybe not, as they will not do it if it destabilises your line.

      You will never see the full benefit of internet speed using wireless, unless it is N grade, which the Sky routers are not.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      richypat07's Avatar
      richypat07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      thanks for replies!

      I found that doing a speed test on my ps3 was bringing 6700kbps via ethernet so i connected my pc via ethernet and i'm getting the same (around 6800/6900kbps).

      So now i know that its my wireless connection my next question is - is this amount of overhead (50% of my connection) to be lost when connection wireless in the seame room with no obstuctions - router and pc are in line of sight. also my pc is going to be moved upstairs into the spare room in the next month or so is there any wireless adapters/routers you could recommend?

      its possible its my wireless adapter as it was a cheap ebay purchase.

      thanks

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      Loosing 50% of your throughput with wireless is not unusual. The Sky routers are not the best at delivering a good signal so if your adapter is a cheepo one, this will make it even worse.

      If you are going to another room on a different floor, it will only get worse. I think you should consider using Homeplug adapters These will outperform any wireless connection, except possibly Draft N, for both speed and stability. The ones linked are only an example, you should shop around for the best deal. Others on the forum are using these and may make a recommendation for you.

      In the mean time, try changing the channel on the router, you may get better reception. Start at 13 and work down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      richypat07's Avatar
      richypat07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      thanks i think i'll invest in a Homeplug adapter after a little research.

      Now that bt have changed my line do you think its worth getting sky to see if i can now handle higher speeds?

      latest stats are....

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 114 89 0 65 133 00:03:53
      LAN 10M/100M 462 0 0 263 0 00:05:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 864 915 0 942 308 00:05:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 25.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 14.0 db

      cheers

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      there's a little bit more to be had but it's the SNR that's the figure to look at...anything near 7 is giving the best it can at the time of sync...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: advice on connection speed needed

      It would do no harm to ask them to put you on ADSL2+, it may give you a another 1 or 2 Mb, but not much more. You can always be switched back if it is unstable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION