Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

In need of help, really bad speed!

This is a discussion on In need of help, really bad speed! within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone hope you can help, take it easy on me as I'm a bit of a noob with the ...

evets_backwards is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackburn
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

In need of help, really bad speed!

Hi everyone hope you can help, take it easy on me as I'm a bit of a noob with the tech stuff.

We are on Sky Broadband and have been told that our line supports up to 2meg.

However these are the stats from the router;

DownStream Connection Speed 160 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 13 db

We called SKY technical support and was passed around, eventually this lady in line support department said she had 'opened up our line' and that they had detected a fault on the BT line, something to do with the earth. The router was showing speeds of around 800 downstream at this time. They booked a BT engineer for us and said that we should be able to further increase the speeds.

Anyway, later that day the speed dropped from 800 downstream back down to 160. This morning the BT engineer came and basically didnt do a whole lot. He said the speed in the master test socket was half a meg and using the front plate with the filter on it was 320kps and said he would do some tests at the exchange and call us, but we haven't had this call back anyway.