Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Very poor speed and service

    This is a discussion on Very poor speed and service within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After 9 weeks of problems I have finally been activated. However I知 on the 16mb Max but I知 only getting ...

    1. #1
      Nazgul242's Avatar
      Nazgul242 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very poor speed and service

      After 9 weeks of problems I have finally been activated. However I知 on the 16mb Max but I知 only getting 600kb from my connection.

      Annoyed to say the least!!!

      I have tried the TCPOptimizer.exe but didn稚 do much.

      Any ideas?




    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      ring Sky tomorrow morning on the freephone number, just a hiccup
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Nazgul242 View Post
      I知 only getting 600kb from my connection.
      Could you post some router stats

    5. #4
      Nazgul242's Avatar
      Nazgul242 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I go about finding my router stats

    6. #5
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      http://192.168.0.1.

      then select show statistics at the bottom of the page that is displayed

    7. #6
      Nazgul242's Avatar
      Nazgul242 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here are the router stats.

      Contacted sky to see if there was anything they could do but they told me that everything was OK and it was only up to 16mb and 600kb seemed reasonable.

      Pretty annoyed about how the whole thing has been handled, its taken 9 weeks to get connect and they sent me a letter today to say that I have to pay for the time I wasn’t connected. Phone customer services, waited 1.5 hours to get through, they then told me I had phoned the wrong customer services and there is nothing they can do about it.

      If any help can be given on improving the speed it would be appreciated as Sky are a waste of time.

      Thanks



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6548 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.5 db 31.3 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 8.1 db

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      skyhelp's Avatar
      skyhelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Nazgul have you tried scanning your computer for viruses, spyware you connections is sync'n at 6mb it looks like a problem between the router and the computer, run netstat on the command prompt and if there is any more than 10 active connections then a scan must be run to emlimnate this problem. also is it hardwired or a wireless connection your using

    10. #9
      x416cfny's Avatar
      x416cfny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Connection

      I also have the same problem. I am on the 16mb package and I am getting about the same speed.



      Router Stats show

      6009kbps downstream, 764 upstream
      Line Attenuation 50.0db downstream, 32.4db upstream
      Noise Margin 7.1 db downstream, 11.0 db upstream

      I also find that the wireless signal is very weak. Is it possible to buy and use another router?

      thanks for all the help anyone can provide.

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site x416cfny

      Looking at your stats and your speed results thats not a bad speed since your stats suggest your on a long line. But try this site as well http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/

      You can only use the SkyBB supplied router to use any others will beak the T&C's

      Instead why not try one of these Wireless4u I use one for my network and its great.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION