Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

    This is a discussion on a serious problem or an incorrect test result? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi, i just got my sky broadband max working (took me 5 days and 5 hours worth of calls to ...

    1. #1
      laney's Avatar
      laney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: swindon
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      swindon
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      hi,

      i just got my sky broadband max working (took me 5 days and 5 hours worth of calls to sky).

      i have a netgear dg934g

      System Up Time: 01:30:46

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8160 kbps 736 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 7 db

      i took a test on Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      Have you tried the test again or used any of the other testers to get a comparison ?
      Sky User - Unofficial Help and Support for Sky Broadband and everything Sky! - Broadband Packages


    4. #3
      laney's Avatar
      laney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: swindon
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      swindon
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      my speed seems to vary but dublin seems ok

      new york seems ok in terms of the ping too
      Last edited by laney; 02-08-08 at 12:59 PM.

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      Beween yours, the one on Skyuser and Namesco's

      Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed

      I get the most optimistic results on the latter.


    6. #5
      laney's Avatar
      laney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: swindon
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      swindon
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      maybe it was just a problem with the maidenhead server i just tested on it again.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      That looks fine now. Next is a call to sky as you should be able to get much more than 8meg if they switch you to adsl2+


    8. #7
      irish's Avatar
      irish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      well accorrding to "http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=971700"
      an FTP test - preferably from command line, not an application - is still the most accurate test of speed.

      you can do one at
      - Edmonton DSL - [Telus FTP Speed test] -

      THIS IS TRUE FTP TEST is the only reliable test for speed,although it is not 100%accurate it is more actual then web based speed tests e.g Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test as it uses the net which could be laggy etc etc which gives inacurate speed

      YOUR MODEM SYNC SPEED IS NOT A TRUE INDICATOR OR SPEED EITHER AS THAT IS YOUR THROUGHPUT BIT SPEED IT IS THE SPEED YOUR MODEM SYNCS UP 2 THE DSLAM E.G SO IF U ARE CONNECTED TO A ADSL2 DSLAM(PORT) YOUR MODEM MAY SYNC UP AT 8MB BUT U MAY ONLY BE RECIEVING 1.5MB OR LESS THROUGHPUT DEPENDING ON WHICH PLAN YOU BROUGHT FROM YOUR ISP...AS YOUR ISP WILL PROGRAM YOUR DSLAM(PORT)TO TEH ALLOCATED SPEED EVEN THOUGH YOUR MODEM SYNCS UP AT ADSL2 SPEEDS THAT IS NOT YOUR ACTUAL DOWNLOAD OR UPLOAD SPEED............

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: a serious problem or an incorrect test result?

      actually THIS is a proper http test...the others are java based...

      the one above from me is more 'real world' as you're downloading a file as opposed to a little dial spinning round...similar to what irish posted but you don't have to faff about with ftp commands, and ftp ports tend to be throttled by ISPs...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION